Subject guides: Public Health: Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander People

Literature databases

ATSIHealth: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography via Informit Online (1900 - present)
Covers Australian Indigenous health.
Terms & conditions
ABS: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples data
ABS publications clustered by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples topic.
Informit Indigenous Collection
Offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Includes material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific.
Terms & conditions

Infokoori (1991 - present)
An index to the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper that focuses on the Indigenous people of Australia.
It also indexes biographical information from various magazines, including: Our Aim (1907-1961), Dawn (1952-1969), New Dawn (1970-1975) and Identity (1971-1982).

Koori Mail Digitised Collection via AITSIS
The Koori Mail digitised collection is the only complete online archive for the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.
NITV National Indigenous Television (SBS) NITV content is made for and by First Nations People
Indigitube indigiTUBE is the online media platform by and for First Nations people, preserving language and culture for future generations.
Indigenous ABC
First Nations Media Australia First Nations Media Australia is the national peak body for First Nations not-for-profit broadcasting, media and communications.

Cultural Safety (AIDA)
"Cultural safety refers to the accumulation and application of knowledge of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander values, principles and norms. " (AIDA) This Factsheet outlines some practical and achievable actions.
NATSIHWA Cultural Safety Framework

Aboriginal Health Organisations:

National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation(NACCHO) NACCHO is the national peak body representing 143 Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services.
Australian Indigenous Doctors Association (AIDA) Australian Indigenous Doctors’ Association (AIDA) is a not-for-profit, member-based, professional association supporting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander medical students and doctors
Indigenous Allied Health Association (IAHA)
National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Health Worker Association The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker Association (NATSIHWA) is the peak body for Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Health Workers and Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Health Practitioners in Australia
Poche Centre for Indigenous Health (University of Sydney)
Healing Foundation The Healing Foundation is a national Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander organisation that partners with communities to address the ongoing trauma caused by actions like the forced removal of children from their families.

Resources & Data:

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet Helping to close the gap by providing the evidence base to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health
The health & welfare of Australia's Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people (AIHW) Includes health and welfare, health expenditure, housing, cardiovascular disease, mothers and babies.
Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (ABS) The Australian Bureau of Statistics reports on Indigenous health, welfare, males, females, children, the elderly, diabetes, obesity and tobacco smoking.
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander palliative care (CARE SEARCH) This site brings together a range of resources and information to help the health care workforce and carers in providing palliative care for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Culturally safe and responsive care is an essential part of good care.

Government: