Skip to main content

Standards and Patents: Finding Standards

A guide to finding standards and patents online

Techstreet - our new platform for Australian Standards

Due to the technical issues we've experienced with SAI Global in recent years, we have decided to trial the database Techstreet for access to Australian Standards in 2021.  Please read the section below titled Australian/New Zealand Standards on how to use Techstreet and the system requirements you'll need to meet to read the pdfs.

Introduction to obtaining standards

For most standards organisations, you will need to access a different database to obtain the standard/s you require. Refer to the applicable standard organisation in the section below for instructions on how to obtain your required standard/s.

If you have any questions about how to obtain a standard, please email library.standards@sydney.edu.au

Please note: A standard that is not part of existing Library subscriptions will only be purchased for those patrons who are academic staff, postgraduate students and final year honours students and if the applicable user licence allows. A decision on whether to purchase a standard is made at the discretion of the Library.


Australian Standards are available via our Techstreet database subscription. You may also use this subscription to browse other standards, including ISO Standards, but please read the section below on ISO standards for directions on obtaining the full text.

Digital Rights Management (DRM)

Digital Rights Management (DRM) is enabled to secure PDFs on this platform. You will need the FileOpen plug-in installed on your computer. This free plug-in can be downloaded individually by each user from the Techstreet platform. You will also need to view your downloaded pdfs via Adobe Reader (rather than within the browser).

10 concurrent users

Please logout after use as only ten concurrent users are able to access the database.


90% of ISO standards (and 50% of IEC standards) are now available for you to access yourself via the British Standards Online database (BSOL). The standards are the British implementation, but identical to the ISO. Once you open the standard, you will see a statement saying that it is identical to the ISO.

If you cannot find the standard because, for instance, it doesn't have a British implementation, send the details to library.standards@sydney.edu.au. Where possible, we will add the requested standard to the database IHS Engineering Workbench.

You will also find a small number of international standards held in print - find these using Library Search.


Current ASTM Standards are now available directly from ASTM Digital Library.

The ASTM Digital Library is also available for technical content covering a wide range of materials and industries, including Special Technical Publications, manuals, technical papers and journals.


The IEEE Xplore database contains a complete set of current IEEE Standards.

In order to search for IEEE Standards, follow this procedure:

1. Go to the IEEE Xplore homepage

2. Click on "Advanced Search"

3. Under "Publications", deselect everything except "IEEE standards"

4.  Run your search

SAE Technical Papers are purchased on demand or supplied from those obtained previously in the same year. Please e-mail library.standards@sydney.edu.au with the details of the papers you are seeking.


For standards produced by organisations not referred to elsewhere on this page follow these two steps:

1. Conduct a search for the standard via Library Search. Search by keyword using the standard designation or the title of the standard.

2. If not found via Library Search, request the standard via library.standards@sydney.edu.au

Please note: If we find a print copy of the standard is available from another institution we may ask that you place a request via our resource sharing service. A standard that is not part of existing Library subscriptions will only be purchased for those patrons who are academic staff, postgraduate students or final year honours students and if the applicable user licence allows. A decision on whether to purchase a standard is made at the discretion of Library staff.

Academic Liaison Librarian

Glen Smyth's picture
Glen Smyth
Contact:
+61 2 8627 8712

Academic Liaison Librarian

Jun Guo's picture
Jun Guo
Contact:
+61 2 90366346