Skip to main content

Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education): Shakespeare in the Classroom

Locating Shakespeare resources in the Library

The Curriculum collection (on Level 5 of Fisher Library) holds many resources for teaching Shakespeare in the classroom. The collection includes works by Shakespeare published specifically for school curriculums or for engaging students with Shakespeare's plays.

Both the Fisher and the Curriculum collection will also include many books that critically evaluate and discuss Shakespeare's work. You can browse or search the Library collections using the following subjects.....

Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Study and teaching

Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Study and teaching (Secondary)

or search in the Fisher or Curriculum collections for illustrated, comic or graphic book editions of Shakespeare's plays

Databases for researching Shakespeare

Freely available web resources

Selected books

Featured audio resources

Listen to Germaine Greer's talk called Shakespeare the Radical, this talk was given at the Sydney Opera House in 2016. Then listen to Melvyn Bragg's BBC radio program Shakespeare's Work where he and his guests discuss the work of William Shakespeare. Follow this by investigating the Top 35 Shakespeare Podcasts to follow.

Resources at the State Library of NSW

Go to the website of the State Library of NSW, join the library online and use your library card code to access databases such as the Shakespeare Collection (Gale) an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works, other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference. Useful for HSC English.

Explore Shakespeare

Featured: Understanding Shakespeare

Featured Resource from ABC Education

New Oxford Shakespeare

Shakespeare in the Classroom

Shakespeare in Film and Television

Shakespeare's plays on DVD

The Library holds many versions of Shakespeare's plays on DVD or streaming video in both the Fisher and Curriculum collections including films and television productions of Shakespeare's plays as well as documentaries and films about Shakespeare or with material with Shakespearian themes.

Merchant of Venice