Law

Curated resources for studying law

Overview
Resources by type
Resources by subject
Legal abbreviations

Top databases

AGIS Plus Text : AGISPT

Covering all aspects of Australian law, and an authoritative collection for primary legal research in comparative and Commonwealth law. Includes articles, reports, and books from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific region, plus selected material from the United Kingdom, U.S. and Canada starting from 1999. Recommended for: journal articles Search help

AustLii

Free access to Australasian legal materials, including including legislation, decisions of courts and tribunals, and treaties. Articles from law journals and law reform commission reports are among secondary materials. Recommended for: cases - legislation - journal articles - treaties - law reform publications.

CaseBase via Lexis Advance

A case citator for Australian law.

LegalTrac via Gale

Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Includes some Australian content and some full-text articles

HeinOnline

Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australian Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) and US Reports (1754 - 2007) Recommended for: journal articles - cases - legislation - treaties You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session Searching 101 Creating email alerts

Lexis+ Australia

Previously named "Lexis Advance". Access cases, legal commentary, journals, CaseBase (case citator), Halsbury's Laws of Australia and the Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary. Recommended for: cases - case citator - commentary - encyclopaedia - dictionaries - legislation - journal articles Note: It’s recommended to change browser settings to accept cookies to avoid authentication errors

Lexis Advance (US & International)

Full text legislation, caselaw, journal articles primarily from the U.S., also including Europe, U.K and Australasia. Recommended for: cases - commentary - legislation - journal articles Note: It’s recommended to change browser settings to accept cookies to avoid authentication errors

Westlaw Australia

Westlaw Australia is a major Australian legal database that provides access to key authorised law reports (CLR, FCR and NSWLR), unreported judgments, commentary, journal articles, and The Laws of Australia legal encyclopaedia. Please note: Westlaw AU has switched to a new platform. For instructions on how to use the new Westlaw Australia platform, check out these guides and training videos. If you have any questions, please Contact a Librarian

Launch Help guide

Westlaw (International)

A source of legal information for non-Australian jurisdictions, Westlaw (International) provides access to legislation, cases and journal articles from the US and other jurisdictions, including Europe, UK, Canada, Hong Kong and NZ. For Westlaw's Journals and Law Reviews, select the World Journals tab at the top Recommended for: cases - commentary - legislation - journal articles

Visit the Law Library

The Herbert Smith Freehills Law Library has study spaces, computers, books and friendly library staff to help you succeed.

Find out more about the Law Library

Visit the Law Library

The Herbert Smith Freehills Law Library has study spaces, computers, books and friendly library staff to help you succeed.

Find out more about the Law Library

Learn about

Legal Research Foundations

Our Legal Research Foundations Canvas modules will help you develop the information searching skills you need when researching law, such as how to:

- find and cite primary and secondary legal material (journal articles, books, law reform reports)
- understand what case law is and how to find it
- effectively search legislation using search operators and connectors
- use the Library catalogue and relevant online law databases.

The modules are self-paced, so you can do them at your own speed and return any time you need a refresher.

Enrol in Legal Research Foundations

Legal Research Foundations

Our Legal Research Foundations Canvas modules will help you develop the information searching skills you need when researching law, such as how to:

- find and cite primary and secondary legal material (journal articles, books, law reform reports)
- understand what case law is and how to find it
- effectively search legislation using search operators and connectors
- use the Library catalogue and relevant online law databases.

The modules are self-paced, so you can do them at your own speed and return any time you need a refresher.

Enrol in Legal Research Foundations

Understanding legal sources

Identify different types of information and appropriate sources for your study or research

Learn about understanding legal sources

AGLC4 referencing

The Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition (AGLC4) is a comprehensive guide to citing Australian primary and secondary legal materials.

Learn about AGLC4 referencing

Understanding legal sources

Identify different types of information and appropriate sources for your study or research

Learn about understanding legal sources

AGLC4 referencing

The Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition (AGLC4) is a comprehensive guide to citing Australian primary and secondary legal materials.

Learn about AGLC4 referencing

General legal sources – primary and secondary sources

HeinOnline

Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australian Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) and US Reports (1754 - 2007) Recommended for: journal articles - cases - legislation - treaties You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session Searching 101 Creating email alerts

Lexis+ Australia

Previously named "Lexis Advance". Access cases, legal commentary, journals, CaseBase (case citator), Halsbury's Laws of Australia and the Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary. Recommended for: cases - case citator - commentary - encyclopaedia - dictionaries - legislation - journal articles Note: It’s recommended to change browser settings to accept cookies to avoid authentication errors

Lexis Advance (US & International)

Full text legislation, caselaw, journal articles primarily from the U.S., also including Europe, U.K and Australasia. Recommended for: cases - commentary - legislation - journal articles Note: It’s recommended to change browser settings to accept cookies to avoid authentication errors

Westlaw Australia

Westlaw Australia is a major Australian legal database that provides access to key authorised law reports (CLR, FCR and NSWLR), unreported judgments, commentary, journal articles, and The Laws of Australia legal encyclopaedia. Please note: Westlaw AU has switched to a new platform. For instructions on how to use the new Westlaw Australia platform, check out these guides and training videos. If you have any questions, please Contact a Librarian

Launch Help guide

Westlaw (International)

A source of legal information for non-Australian jurisdictions, Westlaw (International) provides access to legislation, cases and journal articles from the US and other jurisdictions, including Europe, UK, Canada, Hong Kong and NZ. For Westlaw's Journals and Law Reviews, select the World Journals tab at the top Recommended for: cases - commentary - legislation - journal articles

Case law sources

CaseBase via Lexis Advance

A case citator for Australian law.

ICLR.4

Provides access to authorised UK cases, including The Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports. The Citator+ function provides information on a case’s history, judicial consideration and current status.

Legal abbreviations guide

Access an A-Z list of common legal abbreviations. The guide sets out where to find specific law reports, collections of unreported judgments and journals. Recommended for: cases - journal articles

Legislation and parliamentary sources

Capital Monitor

Provides Federal and State parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information almost as soon as it is available. Full coverage of Australian Parliaments, government departments, agencies, courts and key stakeholders in public policy. Includes news transcripts. Recommended for: legislation - news

Federal Register of Legislation

The authorised website for Commonwealth legislation. Access Acts and Regulations (in force, point-in-time and as made) as well as Bills and EMs (1996- ). Recommended for: legislation

NSW Legislation

Official website for New South Wales legislation Recommended for: legislation

New South Wales Parliament - Bills

Free access to NSW Bills, Explanatory notes and Parliamentary Debates. Recommended for: legislation

Parliament of Australia – Bills section

Free access to Commonwealth Bills, EMs and Parliamentary Debates. Recommended for: legislation

Encyclopaedias and dictionaries

Halsbury's Laws of Australia

Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Current Law: Reporter. Recommended for: legal encyclopedias

The laws of Australia

States the principles of Australian law. Recommended for: legal encyclopedias Accessible by staff and currently enrolled students only

International law – primary and secondary sources

Australian Treaties Library via AustLII

The Australian Treaties Library includes treaty texts, indexes, status lists, and explanatory material. Material is provided by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade.

Oxford Public International Law

Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) is a comprehensive, single location providing integrated access across the Oxford international law resources. Access to Oxford Reports on International Law, the Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law, and Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law.

United Nations Law Collection via HeinOnline

Includes the United Nations Treaty Series, International Court of Justice, Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, and Reports of International Arbitral Awards.

Secondary sources – general

AGIS Plus Text : AGISPT

Covering all aspects of Australian law, and an authoritative collection for primary legal research in comparative and Commonwealth law. Includes articles, reports, and books from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific region, plus selected material from the United Kingdom, U.S. and Canada starting from 1999. Recommended for: journal articles Search help

LegalTrac via Gale

Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Includes some Australian content and some full-text articles

World Journals - Westlaw (International)

On the home page, click International Materials > World Journals.

Climate & energy law

OGEL : Oil, Gas & Energy Law

A peer-reviewed academic journal covering all aspects of law pertaining to oil, gas, and energy in general.

Commercial arbitration & trade law

Recommended

Kluwer Arbitration

Registration required

Registration is required for off-campus access. Please go to the “Kluwer Arbitration” database record in the Library Catalogue for registration instructions: https://sydney.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/61USYD_INST/1c0ug48/alma991001875299705106. This resource provides content for international arbitration research. It contains commentary from expert authors and an extensive collection of primary source materials, ICC cases and awards.

Investment Arbitration Reporter

A news and analysis service tracking investor state dispute settlement (ISDS) arbitration claims, concentrating on arbitrations between foreign investors and their host governments launched under investment protection treaties. It includes reports on the very latest legal pleadings, decisions and arbitral awards, as well as policy developments.

Investment Claims

Arbitral awards, Arbitral decisions, OPIC decisions, and Court decisions (including English translations of key portions of non-English decisions); Books; Journal and yearbook articles; Investment treaty overviews; National legislation; Multilateral and bilateral investment treaties; Arbitral rules; relevant Guidelines and Conventions.

Criminology and criminal law

Recommended

Australian criminology database (CINCH)

References to research on all aspects of crime and criminal justice in Australia.

Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920

Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture contains trials transcripts, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts and true crime litarature. Between the period if 1790-1920 For more information on text & data mining

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.

Evidence law

Recommended

Cross on Evidence

Covers the civil and criminal law of evidence in all Australian jurisdictions. Recommended for: commentary - legislation

Uniform Evidence Law via Westlaw Australia

A practical guide to the NSW and Commonwealth Evidence Acts. Recommended for: commentary - legislation

Human rights law

Human Rights Documents Online

Temporary outage

Contains human rights documents from 483 non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) worldwide, some of which have a universal scope, whilst others focus on the attainment of human rights in a specific area of the world.

Intellectual property law

Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource (SNIPER)

Covers issues in intellectual property such as patents, trade marks and designs, copyright, plant breeder's rights and domain names. Some full text is available online

Labour law

Recommended

CaseBase via Lexis Advance

A case citator for Australian law.

Professional practice & court practice

Riley Solicitor's Manual via LexisNexis AU

Includes relevant legislation and commentary on the regulation of the legal profession, professional responsibility and ethics for solicitors. Recommended for: commentary - legislation

Ritchie's Uniform Civil Procedure NSW via LexisNexis AU

This service is essential for anyone who practices civil litigation in NSW. It covers all tiers of court procedure, providing expert annotation of legislation as well as comprehensive practice material. Recommended for: commentary - legislation

Tax law

Recommended

Checkpoint

Access Australian tax legislation, commentary, ATO rulings, treaties and the Australian Tax Reports (ATR).

Recommended

IBFD : Tax Research Platform

To access this database, please choose to “sign-in” with your university email address under the Single Sign On option. IBFD is a major database of materials on tax and related matters. It includes leading journals on international tax issues and loose-leaf services providing detailed country-specific tax information. Also includes access to RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law. IBFD Tax Research Platform Guide

Legal history

The Making of Modern Law. Legal Treatises, 1800-1926

Fully searchable legal treatises comprising over 21,000 works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. These include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches. Also cross-searchable with other archives via Gale primary sources - analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

The making of modern law. Primary sources

Cover nearly every aspect of American and British law and legal traditions of Europe, Latin America, Asia and other jurisdictions, both classic and contemporary. For more information on text & data mining

The Making of Modern Law. Trials, 1600-1926

Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections. Recommended for: cases Also cross-searchable with other archives via Gale primary sources - analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

Migration, immigration & citizenship law

Recommended

Ritchie's Uniform Civil Procedure NSW via LexisNexis AU

This service is essential for anyone who practices civil litigation in NSW. It covers all tiers of court procedure, providing expert annotation of legislation as well as comprehensive practice material. Recommended for: commentary - legislation

Border and Migration Studies Online

Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander legal resources

Australian

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources (University Library: Featured Collection)

This collection highlights some of the material held within our Library, that are either by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, or cover Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander topics. Try searching for ‘law’ or other related topics in the search bar.

Australian

Australian Indigenous Law Library (AUSTLII)

Resources include: Royal Commission reports, Case Law, Legislation, Law Reform Reports, Treaties and International Agreements

Australian

“Two justice systems working together: Report on the Recognition of Local Aboriginal Laws in Sentencing and Bail” (NT Law Reform Committee 2020)

Australian

“Recognition of Aboriginal customary laws” (Australian Law Reform Commission: 1986)

Australian

Indigenous Collection via Informit

Offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Includes material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific.

View all abbreviations below, or narrow to:

Australian law reports UK law reports NZ law reports Other publication types

View all abbreviations below, or narrow to:

Australian law reports UK law reports NZ law reports Other publication types

All abbreviations

ACTAAT - Administrative Appeals Tribunal of the ACT

Jurisdiction: Australia. Access via AustLII (1993-2009). Medium neutral citation - unreported judgment. Continued by the ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal.

ADO - Australian Designs Office

Jurisdiction: Australia. Access via AustLII (1982- ). Medium neutral citation - unreported judgment

AJFL - Australian Journal of Family Law

Jurisdiction: Australia. Access via Lexis Advance (vol. 1, 1986- )

ATLB - Australian Tax Law Bulletin

.Alternative abbreviation = TAX Access via Lexis Advance (vol. 1, 2014- )

A Crim R - Australian Criminal Reports

Access via Westlaw Australia (1979- ). Subject-specific (unauthorised) report series.

A Def R - Australian Defamation Reports

Limited online coverage available via the Case Law folder within the Australian Defamation Law & Practice (Lexis Advance) service. Hard-copy available in the Law Library via the looseleaf service (1973-1996). Subject-specific (unauthorised) report series.

AAR - Administrative Appeals Reports

Access via Westlaw Australia (vol. 38, 2003- ). Hard-copy available in the Law Library from vol. 1, 1984 and onwards (Reports AUS-AAR). Subject-specific (unauthorised) report series.

AATA - Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Jurisdiction: Australia. Access via AustLII (1976- ). Medium neutral citation - unreported judgment

AATR - Administrative Appeals Tribunal Reports (Vic)

Jurisdiction: Australia vol. 1 (1988) - vol. 22 (1998). Preceded by PABR - Planning Appeals Board Reports (Vic). Continued by VPR - Victorian Planning Reports. Not available at USYD. Request via the Library's Resource Sharing service.

ABC - Australian Bankruptcy Cases

Hard-copy available in the Law Library (vol.1, 1928 - v.20, 1964). Subject-specific (unauthorised) report series.

ABC (NS) - Australian Bankruptcy Cases (New Series)

- Hard-copy available in the Law Library (vol. 1, 1999- ). Subject-specific (unauthorised) report series.

ABCA - Alberta Court of Appeal

Jurisdiction: Canada. Access via CanLII (1970- ). Medium neutral citation - unreported judgment

ABKB - Court of King's Bench of Alberta Jurisdiction: Canada

Access via CanLII (1971- ) Medium neutral citation - unreported judgment. Due to the passing of the Queen on September 8th, 2022, this court is now called "Court of King's Bench of Alberta".

ABLR - Australian Business Law Review

Jurisdiction: Australia. Access via Westlaw Australia (vol. 1, 1973- )

ABPC - Provincial Court of Alberta

Jurisdiction: Canada. Access via CanLII (1998- ). Medium neutral citation - unreported judgment

AC - Law Reports, Appeal Cases (Third Series)

Access via ICLR (1891- )

ACCR - Australian Consumer Credit Reports

Access via Lexis Advance (2 vols. 1994-1997). Subject-specific (unauthorised) report series.

ACIndT - Australian Coal Industry Tribunal

Jurisdiction: Australia. Access via AustLII (1940-1995). Medium neutral citation - unreported judgment

ACJ - Judgments of the Arbitration Court of New Zealand

Hard-copy available in the Law Library from 1978-1986. Continued by the New Zealand Industrial Law Reports.

ACL - Australian Current Law

Access via Lexis Advance: legislation (1991- ) and cases (1972- )

1

...

Related information

Visit the Law Library

Related information

Visit the Law Library

Contact

We're here to help, online or in person.

Contact a librarian

Contact

We're here to help, online or in person.

Contact a librarian