The Library subscribes to many different data sources, including some that have datasets available for reuse. You will need to login to access these data sources, usually using your University credentials.
Australian Bureau of Statistics microdata – Microdata files contain detailed information about individuals, households, businesses and other groups. Access to microdata is managed to protect privacy and confidentiality. Apply for access on the ABS website, making sure to use your University of Sydney email address when registering.
Repository with access to more than 13.5 billion US and international datasets from over 90 sources. Includes data visualization and analysis tools including tables, trend charts, and geographic maps. Login to access Sage DataPlanet using your University credentials.
Morningstar DatAnalysis Premium – Contains data on ASX listed and delisted companies. Data includes full-year and interim financials, analyst forecasts, audit trails, directors, substantial shareholders, mergers and acquisitions, company history, corporate actions, annual reports and announcements, financial ratios, ASX announcements, floats, dividend history, and listing rule waivers, amongst others. Login to access DatAnalysis Premium using your University credentials.
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) iLibrary – Features books, papers, statistics, analyses and data from the OECD, the International Energy Agency, the Nuclear Energy Agency, the OECD Development Centre, the Programme for International Student Assessment, and the International Transport Forum. Login to access the Library A-Z Databases using your University credentials.
Passport (Euromonitor) – Global market research database, providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Login to access Passport using your University credentials.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) – maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Login to access TAIR using your University credentials.
Text and data mining is permitted in a number of the databases that the Library provides access to for University staff and students. Check out the full list of databases available for text and data mining, including licence and access conditions, to see which might be useful for your project
Get in touch with your Academic Liaison Librarian for help with searching for data and other information
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples are advised that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have died.
The University of Sydney Library acknowledges that its facilities sit on the ancestral lands of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, who have for thousands of generations exchanged knowledge for the benefit of all. Learn more