Skip to main content

EndNote: Writing & citing

  • In Word Click on EndNote X9 tab and click on Insert Citation on the EndNote toolbar
  • Select the Insert Citation from drop down menu. A search box will appear. Type in the Authors’ name or a keyword for the reference you wish to use and click Search.
  • The results from your Library will be displayed.
  • Highlight the reference you want and select Insert (use the Ctrl key to select more than one reference)

In Word, on the EndNote tab, click the style drop down menu and select the required style from the list.

Remove a citation

  • Highlight the citation you want to remove
  • Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) on the Endnote tab
  • The Edit citation window will appear on the screen.
  • Check that the correct citation is highlighted in the window
  • Click on the Edit Library Reference drop-down menu
  • Choose Remove Citation and click OK

Edit Citations (Remove Author/ Year)
  • Select the citation you wish to edit then click on Edit Citation button from the EndNote toolbar.
  • A window will appear that shows your citation, make sure it is highlighted. On the drop down menu next to Format select the option you want.

Adding Pagination and Text (Prefix & Suffix)
  • Select the citation you wish to edit then click on Edit Citation button from the EndNote toolbar.
  • In the prefix, suffix field type the “see also”, “see figure” or “see table. In the pages field type the pagination

If you want to modify a reference that is already in your Word document you need to make the changes in your EndNote library first, then go to your Word document and use the Update Citations and Bibliography function:

  • Make changes in your EndNote library
  • Select the Update Citations and Bibliography button from EndNote toolbar
  • You citations and references will be updated

  • In your EndNote library select all the references you wish to include in your Bibliography.
  • Choose the style that you want your references to appear in from the Style drop down menu
  • Go to Edit > Copy Formatted
  • Open a blank document in Word OR a new slide in Powerpoint
  • Go to Edit > Paste

To change your Bibliography layout (font, font size & spacing):

  • On the Endnote tab click on Bibliography Preferences (small square button on right hand side on the Bibliography section)
  • Click Layout
  • Change the required settings and click OK.


In some disciplines, researchers use abbreviated forms of journal titles in their publications. EndNote handles this problem by allowing you to import term lists that store both the full titles of journals and the corresponding abbreviations.

EndNote provides lists for several disciplines, including Bioscience, Economics, Humanities, Law & Medicine in the Terms Lists folder of the EndNote Program folder on the C: drive. For more current journal terms lists go to the UQ website and save the lists to your computer or USB.

Import a term list into Endnote
  1. Go to Tools > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List
  2. Click on the Lists tab and make sure the Journals list is selected
  3. Click on Delete List... to remove the existing list (recommended)
  4. Click on Create List, call the list Journals and tick the Journal List box
  5. Click on Import List and choose the appropriate subject list
    • Can’t see the lists? Lists are usually stored here: C:\\Programs Files \ Endnote \ Terms Lists
    • Alternatively UQ have produced several more current journal term lists for download (works for Mac and PC)
  6. Repeat step 5 for as many subject lists as required
  7. Your list will be imported. Click on the Terms tab to view the lists
Tip: This import process must be done for each Library that you want to use these terms.

Use journal terms list abbreviations with your Endnote Output Style:
  • Go to Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
  • Find and double click on your style from the list
  • Click on Journal Names heading in the left hand panel
  • Choose the option that suits you best (Abbreviations 1, 2, 3 refer to the form of abbreviation listed in the columns in the Terms tab in the Term lists window if you are not sure)
  • Amended output style files

    Choose SAVE AS when attempting to save these files.

    Looking for a specific style file? Try the following links:

     

    ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)

    ASABE.ens

    Note: ASABE uses abbreviations for journal titles which requires the user to downlaod the term lists from Endnote website before they will display. You will need to check your bibliography to ensure the correct abbreviation is displaying.

     

    Australian Journal of Agricultural and Resource Economics

    Aust_J_AgriResEcon(mod).ens

    Note: AJARE uses headline style capitalization for book titles. EndNote is unable to apply headline style capitalization to just Book titles. Change book titles manually in your EndNote library to ensure references are formatted correctly.

     

    AGLC4 (Australian Guide to Legal Citation, 4th edition)

    Download from UTS.

     

    APA 6th (American Psychological Association, 6th edition)

    APA 6th.ens

     

    Biological Reviews

    Biological Reviews.ens

     

    BibTex

    BibTeX~Export.ens

     

    CSIRO journals style

    Download from University of Queensland style files

     

    Environment Science and Technology

    EnvironScienceTechnology1.ens

     

    European Journal of Soil Science

    EuroJSoilScience.ens

     

    Harvard Style
    The Harvard style file in EndNote X needs some modification. The following amended style files correct the following: The word vol. is inserted before the volume number, the issue number is included and follows the word no. and it is possible to insert page numbers in your in-text references.

    Faculty of Dentistry Harvard style: uq_harvard_2002_v8+.ens

    Faculty of Health Sciences Harvard 3 style: harvardam3.ens

    Faculty of Veterinary Science Harvard style: harvardflinders_usyd.ens

     

    International Journal of Marketing

    The Style File can be downloaded from this page (scroll to the bottom section "Files") http://www.thunderbird.edu/faculty/191061/index.htm

     

    Journal of Experimental Biology

    J_Exp_Biology.ens

     

    Journal of Marketing &
    Journal of Marketing Research

    These templates can be downloaded from this page (scroll to the bottom section "Files") http://www.thunderbird.edu/faculty/191061/index.htm

     

    Molecular Plant Microbe Interactions

    Download from Styles made for Wageningen UR Library at http://library.wur.nl/endnote/styles/version4/

     

    Plant and Cell Physiology

    Download from Styles made for Wageningen UR Library at http://library.wur.nl/endnote/styles/version4/

     

    Sydney Nursing School

    This is current to the 2009 Faculty of Nursing Handbook Guidelines. Sydney Nursing School.ens

     

    Wiley Interscience journals

    http://www.interscience.wiley.com/jendnotes/

     

    If you cannot find the Style File you require within EndNote or in the list above, try searching the following sites:

    EndNote Output Styles

    http://www.endnote.com/support/enstyles.asp

     

    Wageningen UR Library -- Amended Style Files

    http://library.wur.nl/endnote/styles/version4/

     

    University of Queensland -- Style Files http://www.library.uq.edu.au/faqs/endnote/styles.html#alpha

    CWYW Frequently Asked Questions

    Saving amended styles

    Windows has security measures that prohibit the direct saving of a file into the C:Program Files folder structure from a third party application, such as your browser. Similar restrictions may be in operation on OSX, depending on how your computer is set up.

    The best way to save one of these amended style types is to first save it to the desktop and copy it into your EndNote style folder in your EndNote program directory (usually located in Windows—C:Program FilesEndNoteStyles or Mac OS X— Harddrive:Applications:EndNote:Styles).