Skip to main content

Education & Curriculum Studies: Finding Books and Encyclopedias

Researching in the discipline of education

Education research is often complex. You are required to understand and access a range of different sources. These include books, academic journal articles (published research), syllabus documents, curriculum resources, research reports from educational organisations and government departments aswell as statistical data & social statistics.

Use the navigation pane on the left of this page to view the range of resources available from the University of Sydney Library.

Defining your terms, finding encyclopedias and books on your topic

Orient yourself to the literature by using specialist dictionaries & encyclopedias for Education:

Dictionaries

A dictionary of education (Oxford) -Online Access

Macquarie Dictionary - Online Access

Oxford English Dictionary -Online Access  to the 20 Volume work

Oxford Reference Online Premium a range of specialist Oxford dictionaries (bilingual, subject specific,quotations) 

Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedia Education -Online Access

International Encyclopedia of Education (Elsevier)- Online access 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences  - Online access


Books and other resources on your topic can be found by searching your keywords of phrases in Library SearchType in your keywords or title and choose Material Type BOOKS

Look at the subject field of the library record for links to more books on the topic. If the book you want is unavailable click on Request options.

Find more books on your topic from Libraries around Australia by searching Libraries Australia and request items not held in our collections via our Request from Another Library online form.

eBooks

Use Advanced Search to find eBooks

Login to Advanced Search using your Uni-key and password to access the full range of eBooks, search for the book by title or keyword/s select Material Type BOOKS  

The Library's eBooks come in a variety of formats, some display chapters that can be viewed in HTML format or PDF files that can be saved to your computer, others require an eBook reader software such as Adobe Digital Editions or Blue Fire Reader.

Our eBooks are accessible 24/7 from anywhere for staff and currently enrolled students. For more information about eBooks including troubleshooting, see the Library's eBook Help Guide.

Selected eBook collections freely available on the web are listed below:

Quick Links

Contact Us

For general library enquiries about opening hours, locating resources on the shelves, copying and scanning and booking study rooms in the library please ask at the Information Desk in Fisher or contact us by phone on 9351 2993 or 9351 2994. We also have a Chat Now / Ask Us Now service.

For research enquiries contact Christine Tennent, Academic Liaison Librarian for the Sydney School of Education & Social Work. christine.tennent@sydney.edu.au

Trending...Teaching 21st Century Skills

Quick links: Library Catalogues