Considering where your research community would search to find the research data and the value of your data to both your research community and others before you select the place to publish your data.
Also, check funder's policies on their websites or Sherpa Juliet and journals for recommendations for data repositories; for example, Recommended Data Repositories | Scientific Data - Nature.
There are a number of things you should consider when finding a suitable repository for your data.
Publishing your data doesn’t necessarily mean that your data must be available to anyone and everyone. If there are concerns that releasing your data openly could cause harm to someone or something, or have other negative consequences, then you should choose to apply specific restrictions on how people can gain access to your data.
DOIs for research datasets are normally created via the data repository holding your research data.
DOIs should be applied to your data when it’s:
The Sydney University Library generates and maintains DOIs for items submitted to the Sydney eScholarship repository.
Adapted from "Where to keep research data", Digital Curation Center. Retrieved from: http://www.dcc.ac.uk/resources/how-guides-checklists/where-keep-research-data/where-keep-research-data
1. re3data - a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
2. FAIRsharing - a curated database of research data repositories, standards and policies focusing on Life and Biomedical Sciences
3. OpenDOAR - the Directory of Open Access Repositories
The Sydney eScholarship repository is the University's institutional repository. You should consider using the repository to archive your research datasets and other research outputs, if they are less than 2GB and can be made openly available.
Datasets published in Sydney eScholarship are added to Research Data Australia, increasing exposure to your research data.
Take a look at our User Guidelines page on how to submit your dataset to the repository or contact firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Zenodo – a multidisciplinary repository that enables scientists to share and showcase research results (data and publications) that are not part of the existing institutional or subject-based repositories of the research communities, offering a variety of different licenses and access levels, integration with GitHub with storage up to 50 GB per dataset;
Dryad – a general-purpose repository that enables the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable and citable;
Open Science Framework (OSF) - a scholarly commons to connect the entire research cycle. It is part network of research materials, part version control system, and part collaboration software;
Figshare – a multidisciplinary repository that allows researchers to publish all of their research outputs in a citable, sharable and discoverable manner.
National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)- advanced biomedical and genomic information
Protein Data Bank (PDB)- 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies
Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR)- datasets relevant to population studies
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)- a catalogue of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data
OpenfMRI- raw magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) datasets
European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)- biological data
MEDMI- health and environmental data
The Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) runs seven centres for environment-related data and also supports the Archaeology Data Service for science based archaeology data
Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB)- international repository for ecological and environmental research
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) – Earth observational data and metadata
MEDMI- health and environmental data
Australian Data Archive - a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data
UK Data Archive- the largest collection of social and economic datasets in the UK
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)- social and behavioural sciences
Wellcome Trust- Data Guidelines
Nature.com - Recommended data repositories categorised by subject area
Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Recommended Repositories
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples are advised that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have died.
The University of Sydney Library acknowledges that its facilities sit on the ancestral lands of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, who have for thousands of generations exchanged knowledge for the benefit of all. Learn more