Skip to Main Content

Reading List (Leganto): Add and edit readings

Add items to your list

Use the tabs below to learn how to add citations to your reading list by:

  • Searching for readings from the library catalogue
  • Adding items manually, such as websites, personal copies or open access items
  • Using the Cite it! button directly from your browser, to add online resources

Once you’ve added readings to your list, you can include more details about the resource by:

  • Editing citations to indicate the type of resource, for example a book chapter
  • Adding tags to indicate actions for students or the Library, or
  • Inserting notes to students (or private ones to yourself or page editors) about the reading
Click on the Add Items or + button (that appears at the top of the screen) and chose Library Search from the options available.

Enter your search keywords into the 'Simple Search' or 'Advanced Search' tabs.

Click Search.

Scroll through the list of results.

Find your desired item, then choose which Section of your list to add it to and click ‘ADD’.

You can also simply click and drag the item into your list.

If you just want students to read a particular chapter of an ebook, choose ADD & EDIT, then change the format type to Book Chapter, update the details of the chapter name, page number and even add a due date. 

Note: For print book chapter digitisation, please see Add Tags.

Your reading will now appear on the reading list.  Students can access online resources (such as ebooks and journal articles) by clicking on the title. 

Hover over the right-hand side of a reading to drag and reorder items in your reading list.

Continue to search and add resources to your list as required.

If you want to link to a website or upload a file of your own, for which you have copyright ownership, you can add a resource manually.

NOTE If you add a reading during the course of the semester, it will still need to be sent to the library for review. See the Finalise your Reading List page on how to send an individual citation for review.

Click on the Add Items button (that appears at the top of the screen) and choose Blank Form from the options available.

1. Add item details

2. Select type of resource from the Type drop-down menu. You can choose from frequently used resource types such as book chapters and articles, as well as options like audio, blogs, case studies and more.

3.Complete fields such as Title, Author, Publisher, Date etc.

4. Scroll down to paste the URL into the Source field or drag your file into the upload space where it says Drag files here to upload them

5. Select which Section you would like the resource to appear.

6. Click 'ADD'

 

 

 

You can add and edit details about a resource, for example the edition of a book or a start and end page for a book chapter, as follows:

The 3 dot ellipsis on the top right of the item box is the key to most actions on an individual item. The ellipsis menu allows you to edit, delete, move, copy and send the item to the library. 

NOTE: If you are adding extra readings to the list during the course of the semester, please use this to SEND the item to the library for review. This assures that any type of reading will become visible for students.

To edit item details like change a book into a book chapter, use the ellipsis menu on the right-hand side of the item and select Edit item.

Here you can refine the resource type and add details relevant to the resource.

For example, for a book chapter,  include the chapter title, the number of the chapter and the start and end pages.

Click 'SAVE' when finished.

Tags are pre-set by the Library and are used to identify actions for the student or the Library.

Click on the pencil icon to see the selection available.

Select the appropriate tag then SAVE

Multiple tags can be selected.

Note: if you want to request a print chapter for digitisation, please make sure you EDIT the item to a Book Chapter format (see image) and add details such as chapter number and page numbers. 

Tags with the mortarboard icon (Required and Recommended reading) are visible to students.

Tags with the book icon are visible to reading list instructors and library staff only, and are only accessible for Required Readings.

These tags have the following functions:

Digitise: to request a scan of the chapter or range of pages.

Move to Short Loan: to request that a print book be moved to the library's Short Loan section (previously 2hr loan) for the semester.

Place a Purchase Request: to request that more copies of a book be purchased (subject to student numbers).

Reading List allows you to create notes about citations, which can be public or private.

  • Public notes can be seen by anyone with access to the reading list. They are a great way to communicate messages to your students regarding the resource. They appear in the citation area of the resource so are easily visible for students.
  • Private notes are only visible to editors of the page and can be used for thoughts about a reading or as a reminder to yourself or a reading list collaborator.
To create a note for a reading, click on the title or resource icon to open the item screen.
The item screen links to the full text (where available). It also shows information about the resource including a field where lecturers can add public and private notes.
What you write as a public note, will show on the main reading list screen for students to see. 

Another way to add resources to your reading list is with the Cite It! option. It's particularly handy for adding external resources such as websites, government documents and blogs.

To use this feature, you need to add the Cite It! bookmarklet to your Internet browser in the following way:

  • Go to your initials in the top-right corner of your Reading Lists page.
  • Click the drop-down menu, select Cite It!

A pop-up window will open.

Click and drag the blue Cite It! bookmarklet  to your browser bookmarks.

Note, for the Cite-It! bookmarklet to work, pop-ups need to be enabled in your browser settings. 

When you find a website you would like to add to your Reading List, click the Cite It! bookmarklet in your browser bookmarks.

 Please note:  your Reading List tool will need to be open for this to be fully functional.

Edit the item details and choose whether to add to your collection or to a particular reading list.  

Select 'ADD & CLOSE' to close the pop-up window.

You will get a message confirming that the resource has been added to your list.

Collection is your own favourites collection from your Library Search login. Once pinned from Library Search, My Collection can be used for multiple reading lists.

You can add items to your list via Collection by using the blue Add Items + button

Search for your item and add it to  your list

You can add items to My Collection from Library Search or via the Collection tab on the left hand menu.

 

You can also add items to Collection using the 'Cite it!' button in your Internet browser or by pinning an item to your favourites when you login and use Library Search.