Library must be saved to the LOCAL drive. DO NOT save your active EndNote library to a network drive, Drop Box, iCloud, One Drive, etc.
The original owner of the library MUST make the back-up regularly.
DO NOT share lager number of attachments. This will slow the process of all users or cause the entire syncing process to stop.
Syncing is not a backup system. If you delete references or attachments from one library, they will be deleted from the other synchronized libraries with the next sync. Technical support will not be able to restore references you have deleted and then synced, so making frequent backups of your desktop library is essential.
When you share a desktop library any file attachments, including pdf copies of articles are also shared. These may be shared within the Sydney University environment for research purposes, however for COPYRIGHT reasons they cannot be shared outside University of Sydney.
If you are already an EndNote Online user and have a library online that is different to the one you wish to share, this library will be overwritten by the shared library. Only one library can be synced with EndNote Online at any one time.
The invitee will receive an email. They must click the Accept button in the email to accept the invitation.
The invitee will be directed to the page, where they must sign-in to the EndNote online account they sync through. If they do not have an EndNote online account, they can set up a new account.
Once signed in, the invitee will receive a notification that they are ready to access the shared library.
To open the shared library, go to EndNote (Later than EndNote X7) desktop version, select File > Open Shared library
You will see a list of all the libraries that have been shared with you. Select the shared library you wish to open and click the Open button.
The library will open, looking much like any other EndNote library. Note, however, that the name of the library will show the EndNote online account name of the owner and the Share Library button will be unavailable. You cannot share a library that you do not own with others, only the owner of a library can share it.
When sharing a Word document between users with a shared library, send a formatted copy of the document.
Open the shared document and click on update citation and bibliography before making any changes
After formatting with the shared / synced library open, the citations will change to match the local library. Remember, you MUST have the synced or shared library open. This document can now be unformatted and reformatted without any issues.