Subject guides: EndNote: EndNote for Group work

EndNote for Group work

Introduction to EndNote

About EndNote:

EndNote is a reference management software package which can be used to manage bibliographies and references when writing thesis and other academic text.
References can be exported directly from library search, databases and Google Scholar.
Synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers, an online library, and your iPad, through EndNote sync. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)
EndNote is connected to Microsoft Word, enabling you to insert citations as well as automatically create and update a reference list / bibliography in your Word document.
The software has many different bibliographic styles that define the appearance of your citations and reference list and citation style can quickly change within the document.
Share your references with collaborators through EndNote sync.
Use your references in word-processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists

General Rules:

EndNote libraries are made up of two parts: the .enl file and the .Data folder. These two parts must be kept together, both are needed for the library to work correctly.
Keep only 1 main library rather than multiple EndNote libraries.
EndNote libraries should be kept on your computer's hard drive. Storing and editing libraries on a network drive can lead to corruption and performance issues.
EndNote libraries should never be stored in cloud-syncing folders such as DropBox, OneDrive, Box, SugarSync, etc. Syncing folders corrupt EndNote libraries over time.
Uninstall your previous version of EndNote before installing a new version.
You can Synchronized your main EndNote library between desktop, laptop and an iPad using EndNote Sync option.
Complete EndNote libraries can be shared with other EndNote X7, X8, or X9 users through EndNote Sync and Library Sharing.

Although you can create as many libraries as you like, it is strongly recommended that you keep all your references together in one main EndNote Library and organise your references using groups. This is the recommended best practice for managing your references long term, and will help you avoid unnecessary complexity when writing multiple papers, creating bibliographies or using your Library from more than one location.

The first time you open EndNote, it will automatically create an EndNote library for you called “My EndNote Library” and place it in the Documents folder.

Create additional EndNote libraries

Go to File > New
Give your Library a name.
Click on Save to save it to your computer.
The new Library appears as an empty EndNote Library. This is your personal Library in which you save your references.

Add References to the library

Manually

From the toolbar select References > New Reference
The template defaults to a Journal Article reference. Use the Reference Type drop-down menu at the top of the screen to change the selection (e.g. Book, Web Page)
Enter the required information in the empty fields displayed (you do not need to fill them all out, just the fields required for a complete citation)
Enter Author information as:
- Single author: Surname (comma) initial (full stop) – if there is
- More than one author: Select the Enter key after entry of each author name (each author must appear on a new line)
- Corporate author: enter a comma after the organisation name (e.g. World Health Organization,).
Use capitalisation as recommended by the bibliographic style you are using.
Once finished entering your reference information, select File > Save.
Select File > Close Reference to return to your Library.
Your reference will be previewed in the panel at the bottom of the screen. Use the drop-down menu at the top left of the screen to change the bibliographic output style.

Popular Reference Types

Book for a book or a report written by one or several authors.
Book section for a chapter in a book or articles from a conference.
Edited book for edited books (anthologies).
Journal Article for printed journal articles.
Web Page for documents found online or Web page

Some fields are mandatory for a complete reference

Books:

Author, title, year of publication, publisher, place of publication. If the book has several publishers, choose the first one. The also applies to place of publication. If a book has several editions, you need to write which one you are using, for example 2nd, 4th and so forth

Articles:

Title and author of the article, journal name, volume, issue and page numbers.

Web Page / Web Documents:

Title and author, year of publication, web address (URL), retrieval date and the latest update date.

Direct Export from a Database

We recommend the Chrome or Firefox Internet browser for browsing our databases and transferring records to EndNote.
Most databases will have an option to “export to…” or “save references to…” button that will enable you to save to EndNote.
There is a list of major databases and brief instructions on exporting references to EndNote from them through the EndNote Subject Guide (http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/endnote) under collect references – Export from different databases.

Example: Direct export from ProQuest databases (eg.ProQuest Central, ProQuest Science Journals, ProQuest Research Library)

Leave your EndNote Library open.
Open your Internet browser and go to the Library homepage: https://Library.sydney.edu.au/.
Click on Databases.
Click on P under Browse databases A-Z by Title.
Scroll down the list of databases until you find the ProQuest databases.
Click on the database you wish to search.
Search the database on your topic of interest.
Select citations from the first page of hits to add to your EndNote Library.
Click on the Save link.
In the Export/Save drop-down menu select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.).
Under Select Fields to Display select the Citation, abstract, indexing and Click on Continue.
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file ProQuestDocument…ris to trigger the direct export.
The records will appear in your EndNote Library.

Export References from Library Search

Leave your EndNote Library open.
Open your Internet browser and go to: https://Library.sydney.edu.au/.
Search for the item that you want to export from Library Search on the Library Homepage.
Your search results will be displayed.
Click on the show actions options on the top pane.
Click on Export To Endnote/RIS from list.
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file export-endnote…ris to trigger the direct export.
Your selected references will appear in EndNote.

Export References from Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular research literature search engine. The University Library collection can be accessed directly when searching Google Scholar via the University proxy. Searching this way will enable you to authenticate as a University of Sydney student or staff member and access full-text and/or Library holdings directly from your Google Scholar search results. To activate this feature, search Google Scholar via the Library Databases list.

Leave your EndNote Library open.
Open your Internet browser and go to: https://Library.sydney.edu.au/.
Click on Databases.
Click on G under Browse databases A-Z by Title.
Scroll down the list and click on Google Scholar.
From the Google Scholar homepage, select Settings.
Under Bibliography manager, select the option to Show links to import citations into
Select Endnote from the drop-down list provided
Save your settings
Search Google Scholar on your topic of interest.
Click on cite symbol ”
Select the reference style you wish to export then click on EndNote.
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file scholar (#).enw to trigger the direct export.

Exporting multiple references from Google Scholar

Create a Google Account. In order to use the personalised features of Google Scholar, such as My library, you'll need to create a free Google account.
Search Google Scholar on your topic of interest
Click the star icon (*) below the search results and saved your articles uoi with to download into My library.
Click on My library from top right-hand corner.
In My library select the references you wish to export to EndNote.
Click on the export button and select EndNote
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file scholar (#).enw to trigger the direct export.

Manage References using Groups

Custom Groups

You can use groups to sort references by subject or study field. Groups make it easier to keep track of your library’s references. A reference may be linked to several groups. Even though a reference is linked to a group, you will still find it in All References.

The left pane of the Library window lists all the Groups in the current Library

Use Group funtion to group references together (it may be for an assignment, a topic etc)
From the toolbar select Groups and click on Create Group
Enter a name for the Group OR click on My Group and right click on the mouse, select Create group then enter a name for the Group.
Click on All References at the top of the Groups pane to view all references in your Library.
Highlight references you wish to add to the Group in the main window (select individual papers by holding down the Ctrl key and selecting references with your cursor).
From the Groups menu at the top of the page, select Add References to… and choose your
Group name from the list OR Highlight references you wish to add to the Group in the main window.
Drag and Drop the selected references onto the group in which you wish to place them.

Smart Groups

Use Smart Groups to automatically add references to a Group if they match specific criteria (e.g. all articles by a particular author or articles containing a certain keyword etc.)
From the toolbar select Groups and select Create Smart Group
A search box appears. Enter a name for your Smart Group.
Enter criteria for your search (e.g. Year is greater than 2006).
Click Create.
A new Group will appear under Smart Groups at the left of the page.
As you add more references to your Library, references meeting the search criteria will be automatically added to your Smart Group.

Group Sets

Create Group sets to organise your groups into sets. You can create up to 500 group sets.
From the toolbar select Groups > Create Group Set
Enter the name of the Group Set
You can create sub groups under your Group Set using any of the methods described for creating groups above.

Delete Groups

Select the group you wish to delete then go to Groups and click on Delete Group.

Create from Groups

If you want to make a new group from a combination of several groups, go to Groups and select Create from Groups. Select groups from the list to create new combination group

Find and Remove Duplicates

The Find Duplicates window highlights fields that contain non-matching text so you can quickly compare the records and remove duplicate references from your Library. This feature should ideally be used immediately after exporting new references to your Library, to avoid unnecessary complications when you use the Cite While You Write functions in Word.

Select References > Find Duplicates
The Find Duplicates window will appear (see below).
Compare each set of duplicate references.
Select Keep This Record to identify the reference you wish to keep or select Skip to keep both references in your Library.
On completion of finding duplicates, go to the Trash under My Library in the left pane.
Right click to empty trash and remove the duplicate references from your Library.

Sharing your Endnote Library

Option 1: Compressed and attached as a email

File > Compressed Library (.enlx)
Select Create and With File Attachments then click on Next.
Select the destination you wish to save your compressed library.
Add the file name with date
Click on save then EndNote will automatically compressed your library and data folder as a one file.
You can attached compressed library to your e-mail to share with others

Option 2: Synconise EndNote desktop and Endnote Online

How it works:

You can share with anyone using EndNote X7 version onwards (up to 100 people).
EndNote X8 & X9 includes an Activity Feed witch you can monitor the activities
Share your entire EndNote library, including references, PDFs, and annotations
Everyone can add to, annotate and use the library – at the same time
You must have an active EndNote Online account
You can only share one library at a time. This is the library you will be syncing to your On-line account
You are basically sharing your Online account with the other users.
All the other users can sync to their own Online accounts, this will not affect the shared library
You will be giving full access to your library and all attachments
There’s no charge for sharing, no library size limit and no charge for unlimited cloud storage
You can share group of references without attachments using EndNote online.

Things to Remember:

Library must be saved to the LOCAL drive. DO NOT save your active EndNote library to a network drive, Drop Box, iCloud, One Drive, etc.
The original owner of the library MUST make the back-up regularly.
DO NOT share lager number of attachments. This will slow the process of all users or cause the entire syncing process to stop.
Syncing is not a backup system. If you delete references or attachments from one library, they will be deleted from the other synchronized libraries with the next sync. Technical support will not be able to restore references you have deleted and then synced, so making frequent backups of your desktop library is essential.
When you share a desktop library any file attachments, including pdf copies of articles are also shared. These may be shared within the Sydney University environment for research purposes, however for COPYRIGHT reasons they cannot be shared outside University of Sydney.
If you are already an EndNote Online user and have a library online that is different to the one you wish to share, this library will be overwritten by the shared library. Only one library can be synced with EndNote Online at any one time.

Set up EndNote to synchronise between EndNote and EndNote web

Go USYD library home page> Click on Databases> Select Web of Science from the list
Click on EndNote from top menu pane
and click on register then follow the prompts.
You will receive an email from WOS to activate your EndNote online account.
Open your EndNote library
Select Edit > Preferences
Select Sync from the right hand pane
Add your Account Details (Email address and Password)
Select the Sync option and click apply, OK
Select Tools>Sync to transfer references from Desktop Endnote to EndNote Web

How to Share your library with other Collaborators

Once library Sync with Online then click on file > Share
Add invitees email address and message then click on Invite

How to share a EndNote group with other Collaborators

Go to EndNote online account. Signed in using your username and password.
Click on Organize and then select Manage My Groups.
Check the square box to the right of the group you wish to share and choose the Manage Sharing button
Click on Start sharing this group
Add email addresses for those with whom you wish to share your group
Select the button to allow the person to Read Only or Read & Write
Read Only will give access to references within the group. Read & Write will give access to references within the group and the ability to add, edit and subtract references
Click Apply
Close the window
Notify your collaborator/s that the shared group will be found under Groups Shared by Others in their online EndNote library

How to Join a Library someone Shared with you

The invitee will receive an email. They must click the Accept button in the email to accept the invitation.
The invitee will be directed to the page, where they must sign-in to the EndNote online account they sync through. If they do not have an EndNote online account, they can set up a new account.
Once signed in, the invitee will receive a notification that they are ready to access the shared library.
To open the shared library, go to EndNote (Later than EndNote X7) desktop version, select File > Open Shared library
You will see a list of all the libraries that have been shared with you. Select the shared library you wish to open and click the Open button.
The library will open, looking much like any other EndNote library. Note, however, that the name of the library will show the EndNote online account name of the owner and the Share Library button will be unavailable. You cannot share a library that you do not own with others, only the owner of a library can share it.

Sharing a Word Document/manuscript with the shared library

When sharing a Word document between users with a shared library, send a formatted copy of the document.
Open the shared document and click on update citation and bibliography before making any changes
After formatting with the shared / synced library open, the citations will change to match the local library. Remember, you MUST have the synced or shared library open. This document can now be unformatted and reformatted without any issues.

Use EndNote to Cite While You Write (CWYW) using Word

Insert References

EndNote allows you to insert references in a number of ways. Here are a few options.

Open Word (leave your EndNote Library open)
Type some text in your document and put the cursor where you want the reference to go
Open your EndNote Library OR In MS-Word select EndNote Tab
Click on the Go to Endnote button
Your EndNote Library will appear. Highlight the reference you want to insert
Click on the Insert Citation button in EndNote
You will be taken back to Word and the reference will be inserted into your paper.

Alternative Option

In Word Click on EndNote X9 tab and click on Insert Citation on the EndNote toolbar
Select the Insert Citation from drop down menu. A search box will appear. Type in the Authors’ name or a keyword for the reference you wish to use and click Search.
The results from your Library will be displayed.
Highlight the reference you want and select Insert (use the Ctrl key to select more than one reference)

Change Output Style in Word

In Word, on the EndNote tab, click the style drop down menu and select the required style from the list.

Edit Citations

Remove a citation

Highlight the citation you want to remove
Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) on the Endnote tab
The Edit citation window will appear on the screen.
Check that the correct citation is highlighted in the window
Click on the Edit Library Reference drop-down menu
Choose Remove Citation and click OK

Edit Citations (Remove Author/ Year)

Select the citation you wish to edit then click on Edit Citation button from the EndNote toolbar.
A window will appear that shows your citation, make sure it is highlighted. On the drop down menu next to Format select the option you want.

Adding Pagination and Text (Prefix & Suffix)

Select the citation you wish to edit then click on Edit Citation button from the EndNote toolbar.
In the prefix, suffix field type the “see also”, “see figure” or “see table. In the pages field type the pagination

**Do not delete unwanted citations by highlighting and pressing the delete key on the keyboard **

Update Citation and Bibliography in Word

If you want to modify a reference that is already in your Word document you need to make the changes in your EndNote library first, then go to your Word document and use the Update Citations and Bibliography function:

Make changes in your EndNote library
Select the Update Citations and Bibliography button from EndNote toolbar
You citations and references will be updated

Create a Stand-alone Bibliography in Word

In your EndNote library select all the references you wish to include in your Bibliography.
Choose the style that you want your references to appear in from the Style drop down menu
Go to Edit > Copy Formatted
Open a blank document in Word
Go to Edit > Paste

Formatting your Bibliography

To change your Bibliography layout (font, font size & spacing):

On the Endnote tab click on Bibliography Preferences (small square button on right hand side on the Bibliography section)
Click Layout
Change the required settings and click OK.

Backup and Compress your EndNote Library

Backing up your Library is essential if you are working on an important project or upgrading to a new version of EndNote. The easiest way to backup is by creating a compressed library.

You can compress your Library to save your complete Library (including the filename.enl file and associated .DATA folder) to a single compressed filename.enlx file for easy backup or to send a copy to a colleague. It is recommended that you include the date at the end of the filename for backup copies.

Compress and save/email a Library

File > Compressed Library (.enlx)
Select Create and With File Attachments then click on Next.
Select the destination you wish to save your compressed library.
Add the file name with date
Click on save then EndNote will automatically compressed your library and data folder as a one file.
You can attached compressed library to your e-mail to share with others

Maintaining Backup

Periodically (or after every new addition if desired) create a new backup copy using compress library function then delete the old back up copy or date each backup.

EndNote: EndNote for Group work