Skip to main content

International Students guide: Enjoy our collections

Film and Music Databases

The University of Sydney Library is not only here to help with your studies, but also here to help you enjoy your free time too. There are many collections that you might find enjoyable to learn about during your time here. 

As a student at the University of Sydney you have access to all the databases that the Library subscribes to. These include Music and Film databases that you can access in your spare time via the library website.

Kanopy - Kanopy is an online streaming service that let's you access thousands of documentaries, blockbusters, foreign and independent films.

Sydney Conservatorium of Music YouTube Channel - Music performed by students at the University's Sydney Conservatorium of Music. 

Medici TV - Medici is a classical music database that allows you to stream videos of concerts, operas, ballets and documentaries from some of the world's greatest classical music performers.

 

East Asian Collection

The University Library’s East Asian Collection is the third largest East Asian collection in Australia. 

Most borrowed books in East Asian Collection

Our collection includes a significant number of ChineseJapanese, and Korean films.

Rare Books and Special Collections

The University of Sydney Library's Rare Books and Special Collections holds early books from Europe, Australia, America and Asia among others.

It consists of:

  • early printed books
  • special collections
  • personal papers
  • treasures
  • theses
  • University of Sydney materials, digital collections, and the Archive of Australian Judaica.

Discover our treasures via events.

Observe our collections on display via current exhibitions.