Subject guides: MOOC Resources for Educators: Books, journals, articles

ebooks

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
The usage rights of the books in DOAB are determined by the license. Please check the license if you want to re-use the contents of a book. Generally speaking, all books listed in DOAB are free to read and share for non-commercial use.
more...less...
All books listed in DOAB are freely accessible and therefore free to read, but this does not mean readers are free to do anything they like with these books. The usage rights of the books in DOAB are determined by the license. Please check the license if you want to re-use the contents of a book. Generally speaking, all books listed in DOAB are free to read and share for non-commercial use. Primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.
Project Gutenberg Australia
All books are in the 'public domain' in Australia and all have been prepared by volunteers.
Project Gutenberg
ebooks may be freely used in the United States. They may not be free of copyright in other countries. Readers outside of the United States must check the copyright laws of their countries before downloading or redistributing our ebooks. There are also a number of copyrighted titles, for which the copyright holder has given permission for unlimited non-commercial worldwide use.
Open Stax
Provides access to peer reviewed, university-level textbooks published under a Creative Commons Attribution Licence.
Open Textbook Library
The library is a tool to help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed, generally under Creative Commons licenses.
Saylor academy open text books
Textbooks freely available for download, online reading, and sharing, under one of various open licenses. Check each book for specific terms.
BioMed Central
An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
Hathi Trust (books, articles and more)
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering millions of titles digitised from libraries around the world.
Users are encouraged to cite and link to digital content and are free to do so without asking for permission. Depending on the source of the digitized work, licenses or other contractual terms may restrict further distribution or other uses.

Journals and articles

DOAJ
A directory of high quality Open Access, peer reviewed journals.
PLOS - Public Library of Science
140,000+ peer reviewed articles published to date.
PLOS applies the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license. Anyone may copy, distribute or reuse these articles, as long as the author and original source are properly cited.

Open access dissertations and theses

PQDT Open (Proquest) - Theses
With PQDT Open, you can read the full text of open access dissertations and theses free.
OATD: Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Provides access to more than 1.6 million open-access theses and dissertations freely available from over 800 institutions worldwide.

Open access databases

LOADB: Listing of Open Access Databases
Science and Technology open access databases.