International Law: Other International Law Resources - by topic

The key global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. Based around WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. Includes documentation, trade data and other resources.

Comprehensive guide to understanding the activities of the WTO. Published by the WTO.

Via the WTO site. Brings together documentation relevant to the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (the only multilateral international trade law instrument prior to the establishment of the WTO in 1995). This is a work in process and archival documents are being progressively scanned and added to the database.

UNCITRAL is the core legal body of the United Nations system in the field of international trade law. Site provides links to UNCITAL texts, General Assembly resolutions and related documents, Commission documents, and case law via the CLOUT database (Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts).

This Committee deals with economic growth and development and questions of macroeconomic policy, international financial systems and trade, debt sustainability, sustainable development etc.

Includes full text resolutions, decisions and reports, and other publications.

Handy links to Economic and Social Council general documentation, resolutions and decisions, reports, Ministerial Declarations, newsletters, and other publications.

From the American Society of International Law. Updated 2013.

From the American Society of International Law. Updated 2013.

From the University of Basel, this database provides the text of the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods, commentary, travaux préparatoires, and searchable case law.

From the Commonwealth of Australia Attorney-General's Department.

Including information by topic, links to other relevant UN agencies, links to relevant treaties and other useful resources.

The Peace Palace Library serves the International Court of Justice, Permanent Court of Arbitration and the Hague Academy of International Law.

The ICLS was founded in Spring 1999 by students and young faculty members from various departments of Humboldt and the Free University of Berlin / Germany to advise the public, both academic and non-academic, of the current state of international criminal law and related areas. Includes information regarding ICLS projects, links to relevant documents and statutes and tribunals etc.

The International Criminal Court Forum is a legal journal and world-wide discussion forum on complex legal issues of importance facing the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court. The purpose of the Forum is to allow members of the legal community, governments, academics, and others to debate complex issues of international criminal law faced by the Office of the Prosecutor in the course of its work at the ICC.

From the World Legal Information Institute - a collection of resources by subject.

Includes links to peak UN bodies regarding the issue, and thematic links to UN information.

Current session and archival information, as well as a documents section.

From the International Committee of the Red Cross. Includes access to Geneva Conventions, information on the sources of international humanitarian law, a humanitarian law and policy blog and links to other relevant resources.

From the International Committee of the Red Cross. Includes information on international criminal jurisdiction, case studies on legal protection in conflict situations, treaties and customary law, law on weapons and other useful information.

Links to full-text treaties from the 19th and 20th centuries that regard the laws of war. Part of the Avalon Project via Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library.

Includes links to relevant treaties, other UN documents, policy, statistics and lists relevant books and articles. From the UN Dag Hammarskjold Library.

Published by the American Society of International Law. Updated 2013.

WIPO is the global forum on intellectual property. Site contains information relevant at both national and international level.

From the World Intellectual Property Law Organization. Provides relevant national laws and international treaties in full text, and other relevant resources.

Published by the American Society of International Law, last updated February 2013.

Provides links to the essential UN Charter based human rights bodies, and the ten Treaty based human rights bodies.

Provides current and archival information and documentation regarding the work of the Third Committee.

From the UN Dag Hammarskjold Library.

Via the Hauser Global Law School Program, New York University. Updated in 2014.

From the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.

From the American Society of International Law. Last updated 2013.

Includes the Conventions and related Agreements, the Law of the Sea and the General Assembly, links to bodies established under the Convention, dispute settlement information and related resources.

The United Nations specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships. IMO is the global standard-setting authority for the safety, security and environmental performance of international shipping.

Includes information about the Tribunal, basic texts, and cases in full text.

Available electronically from 1996 - Note: Most recent 3 years unavailable.

Acts to facilitate the implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea in respect of the establishment of the outer limits of the continental shelf. Includes links to enabling documents, state party submissions and Commission recommendations.

An autonomous international organization established under the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and the 1994 Agreement relating to the Implementation of Part XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. Includes legal instruments and links to other relevant publications.

UN database including deposits with the UN General-Secretary pusuant to the Law of the Sea Convention and information related to exclusive economic zones, the continental shelf, maritime claims, domestic legislation by country and other relevant resources.

From the American Society of International Law. Updated in 2015.

Founded in 1919 primarily as a tool for social justice, the ILO became the first specialised agency of the UN in 1946.

Information System on International Labour Standards, from the International Labour Organization (ILO). By country, provides relevant national legislation, treaty ratification and reporting obligations, Comments of the Committee of Experts and other information.

Handy tool for national and comparative examination of employment protection laws across the globe.

Provides a country by country summary of the main elements of OSH / WHS legislation, including management and administration, employers’ duties and obligations, workers’ rights and duties, inspection and enforcement, and other matters.

Contains selected judicial decisions in which domestic and international courts have relied on international labour standards and other international legal instruments to resolve the cases brought before them. From the International Training Centre of the International Labour Organization.

IBFD is a major database of materials on tax and related matters. It includes leading journals on international tax issues and loose-leaf services providing detailed country-specific tax information

Provide readers with judgments and decisions of major tax cases from all over the world.

Provides international and US tax information, updated daily. Includes Worldwide Tax Treaties database.

Tax Notes is a weekly online journal providing in-depth news, analysis and commentary on international taxation issues - including legislative, judicial, administrative and policy issues from over 180 countries.

The key UN environmental body.

Within the UNEP, the lead division charged with the development and facilitation of international environmental law, governance and policy. Features news and a full-text publications collection.

Browse treaties by topic, region or country. Relevant treaties, national plans and reports, legislation, case law, goals, declarations and commentary available.

ECOLex is run by FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN), IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) and UNEP (UN Environmental Programme). It contains full text environmental treaties, case law and relevant domestic legislation.

Legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest electronic collection of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management.

Commerical database focusing on recent developments in oil, gas, energy law, regulation, treaties, judicial and arbitral cases, voluntary guidelines, tax and contracting, including the oil, gas, energy geopolitics.

Details of CIEL programs and handy research and publications links.

From the American Society of International Law. Updated 2013.