Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-Making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters, from the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe.
Dedicated to the strengthening and use of international law and institutions to protect the environment. The centre works in the areas of climate change, biodiversity, and human rights and the environment, as well as working with international financial institutions and international trade bodies to promote pro-environmental law reform.
The homepage for the convention provides the text of convention itself, the Cartagena Protocol, the Nagoya Protocol plus a range of related documentation, decisions, commentary, statistics etc.
From ECOLex, this database compiles the most relevant national information related to the Convention on Biological Diversity and the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety by country.
This website is run jointly by the United Nations Environment Programme, the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation, and the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and includes links to relevant treaties, case law, legislation and secondary materials.
From the Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI) website, produced by the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Centre (SEDAC), a body administered by NASA.
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) is the leading global environmental authority. The website includes sections on climate change, disasters and conflict, ecosystem management, environmental governance, chemicals and waste, and resource efficiency.
From the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Includes a document Library, a publications section, information on relevant UN systems and processes, and information regarding sustainable development goals.
Established by the UN General Assembly in December 1992 to ensure effective follow-up of United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED). Part of the Sustainable Development Knowledge Platform.
The Special Rapporteur has a mandate to identify and investigate issues relating to human rights and the environment, and recommend solutions to those issues.
From the United Nations Environment Programme. Includes topical and jurisdictional based publications, texts of legal instruments, issues briefs and factsheets, annual International Environmental Law-making and Diplomacy Reviews and other publications, all available for download.
from the Department of Sustainable Development, an office of the Organization of American States. Includes environmental and water management legislation and environmental provisions in Trade Agreements relevant to member states.
From the Asian Development Bank, and including policy, legislative, institutional and budgetary framework information for 26 countries from Asia and the Asia-Pacific region.
Published by the International Development Law Organization in June 2012. Includes case studies for India, China, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Australia and Japan.
Includes summaries of European Union policy and legislation in areas such as sustainable development, waste, noise and air-pollution, water, biodiversity, soil protection, climate change etc.
The approximation of law is a unique obligation of membership in the European Union requiring countries aspiring to join the European Union to align their national laws, rules and procedures in order to give effect to the entire body of EU law contained in the aquis communautaire. This website is provided via Europa.
