Skip to main content

Referencing and Citation Styles: Health Resources

Health Resources

Cochrane review with doi

Reference format

Author name. (Year). In Title of report – italicised. Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxxxxx

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of review article. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews – italicised(Issue - italicised), Page number. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx

In text (Aaron, Copper, Warner & Burton, 2018)
Reference list                                 

Aaron, K., Cooper, T. E., Warner, L., & Burton, M. J. (2018). Ear drops for the removal of ear wax. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Art. No.: CD012171. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD012171.pub2  

Endnote -        Reference type

Journal article

Notes:

 

‚ÄčAustralian Medicines Handbook / MIMS Online / AccessPharmacy /  eTG

Reference format

Title of entry. (Year). In Title of database – italicised. Retrieved month date, year, from http://www.xxxxxxxxx

In text                                   (Paracetamol, 2019).
Reference list

Paracetamol. (2019). In Australlian Medicines Handbook. Retrieved from http://amhonline.amh.net.au/chapters/analgesics/drugs-pain-relief/non-opioid-analgesics/paracetamol 

Endnote - Reference type           

Electronic book

Enter title of entry in Author field, Australian Medicines Handbook in Secondary title field

Notes:

  • The best way to reference a page from MIMS, AMH, AccessPharmacy, eTG or Nursing Consult, is to treat it like an electronic resources
  • Author: may be listed on the first page of the entry or under a section called 'Contributors' (or similar).
  • If the reference topic has no author, use the topic (title) as the first element in the reference.
  • Year: use the last update year. If there is no update year listed, use the copyright year. This information may be included at the top or bottom of the screen.
  • Include the basic access URL after "Retrieved from". No access date is required for electronic reference entries.
  • In-text : cite as (Title of entry, year of last update)

 

UpToDate

Reference format                           

Author A. & Author B. B. (Year). In Title of database – italicised. Retrieved month date, year, from http://www.xxxxxxxxx

In text                                   (Williams & Nieuwsma, 2019).
Reference list

Williams J., & Nieuwsma, J. (2019). Screening for depression in adults. In UpToDate. Retrieved Jan 20, 2019 from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/screening-for-depression-in-adults

Endnote -   Reference type

Electronic book

 If last update year is different from access year

 In word document: Convert to Plain text, add month date, year, between Retrieved from

 eg. Retrieved Jan 20, 2019, from http://www.xxxxx

Notes:

  • Cite an article in UpToDate as an online reference work or a chapter in an edited book
  • For the year, use the year last updated
  • Provide a retrieval date if last update year is different from your access year because the content will change over time. Add Retrieved month date, year, from http://www.xxxxxxxxxx in the reference
  • See APA Style blog for more information

 

Name of organisation / government agency as author,  such as Australian Institute of Health and Welfare report / National Medical Research Council document

Reference format

Author name. (Year). In Title of report – italicised. Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxxxxx

In text (Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2018)
Reference list                                         

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. (2018). Chronic conditions and disability Handbook. Retrieved from https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/chronic-disease/chronic-conditions-and-disability-2015/contents/table-of-contents 

Endnote -        Reference type                

Web page

For corporate author, put a comma after the name of the organisation eg. Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.

Notes: