Skip to main content

Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education): Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Teaching Resources

Acknowledgement to Country

We acknowledge and pay respect to the traditional owners of the land on which we meet  (the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation). It is upon their ancestral lands that the University of Sydney is built.

As we share our own knowledge, teaching, learning, and research practices within this University may we also pay respect to the knowledge embedded forever within the Aboriginal Custodianship of Country. 

Evaluating resources, selection criteria and protocols

Resource guides, Syllabus, Curriculum documents

Featured Websites

undefined

At the National Museum of Australia's website access Encounters teaching resources based on the Museums collection: including primary sources; curriculum links, classroom activities and units of work.



National Museum of Australia - classroom resources

More Reconciliation links 


See also..Guardian Australia's Special Report The Killing Times: Frontier Wars & Massacre Map


More Resource Guides and Protocols & Strategy documents

Blackwords from Austlit

BlackWords:  Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writing and Storytelling

This database and teaching resource is part of Austlit: Australian Literature Gateway. BlackWords is an invaluable resource for the English classroom and supports the incorporation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives across the curriculum particularly within the Humanities, Social Sciences and within Educational contexts. It includes Information TrailsTeaching Resources and Teaching with BlackWords. Do an Advanced Search and choose Project: BlackWords

1967 Referendum

Reading Australia

Freely available, Reading Australia was created by the not-for-profit Copyright Agency with the goal of making it easier for teachers, through their passion and skills, to spread a love for Australian texts. 

There is a Teacher's Corner on the website; also many of the secondary-level titles are also accompanied by essays written by eminent authors, academics and critics. There are teacher guides for primary texts.

In the Video section you will find interviews with and speeches made by authors. Twenty titles have had AustLit trails created for them.

Sample list of titles with teacher resource and/or /essay on the Reading Australia site:

Alfred's War by Rachel Bin Salleh

Bran Nue Dae by Jimmy Chi

Journey to the Stone Country by Alex Miller

Yirruwa Yirrilikenuma-langwa/When We Go Walkabout by Rhoda Dugururru Lalara

Big Rain Coming by Katrina Germein

My Girragundii by Meme McDonald and Boori Monty Pryor

Do Not Go Around the Edges by Daisy Utemorrah

Publishers

Publisher websites increasingly provide additional resources for many of their publications.

Magabala provide Teacher's notes for many of their recent books, a new book may sometimes be accompanied a soundcloud interview with an author.

Video clips of events such as this one from One Day Hill publishers  that relate to the story told in the book 'From little things big things grow'.


Look up the Honey Ant Readers on Youtube and you will find videos of the stories such as Nana Dig.

Mathematics with Australian Indigenous perspectives

Yiwarra Kuju (The Canning Stock Route)

Library collections and resources

Image:The Southern Toss by artilst Adam HillImage preview

This Library guide assists students and researchers with finding appropriate resources for teaching practice and research; and with embedding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives across the curriculum.

Library Websites

Locate material using both Library catalogues and other research resources. At the University of Sydney, Fisher Library's Curriculum Collection includes children's books with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives. The Wingara Mura Research Library in the Wooley Building also includes many children's books which represent  historical changes in the writing and illustration of books about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People. Use the University of Sydney Library's Advanced Search to find items in the Fisher Curriculum and the Wingara Mura Research Library collections.

The University library also has eBooks (Unikey required for access), for example Remembering Lionsville: My family story as well as print and eBooks from the publisher Magabala Books

Council, State and National Libraries

Local government libraries have picture book collections, YA fiction collections and children's non fiction collections. 

State Libraries frequently include collections and digital collections that relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait islander communities within their states. Some have created resources to support teachers and students.

State Library of New South Wales. Indigenous Services & Collections, see also their Indigenous Languages MAP

State Library of Victoria Koori Victoria

State Library of Queensland. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Collections 

State Library of Western Australia Guide to Indigenous Information.

National Library of Australia. Where can I find information about Indigenous Australians? and also their database TROVE

 

Selected Books on People and Events

Web Resources on People & Events

AIATSIS

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)

Their Library catalogue MURA is an invaluable resource for researching many aspects of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives and contexts. Look for materials in the MURA catalogue then check if the University Library has the items, if not available use the Request from icon to request items.

See also AIATSIS Aboriginal history resources

Science, Astronomy, Geography, Culture

Websites and resource portals

The following sites offer teaching resources, lesson plans & videos.

ABC Education ResourcesScootleSlideshareTeacherTubeTES  and Vimeo, a video sharing database