Treaties - Government Documents - Australia - Subject guides at University of Sydney

Locating Treaties

Treaties are international agreements concluded between States and governed by international law. They may also be referred to as conventions, international agreements, covenants, international instruments, charters or protocols.

Australia and international treaty making : information kit by Australia. Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.
Call Number: Online via Austlii, Also in Storage 341.370994 4
This education-information kit has been put together by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in the interests of improving understanding of Australia’s participation in the treaty process.
Australian treaty series by Australia. Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.
Call Number: Storage 341.294 4
ISBN: 1036-3467
Storage Library has No.2(1989)-23(1996), 1(1998)-32(2000), 2(2001)-5(2001)

Law - International; Treaties Australia - ATS
Law Library has 1989-no.1(1997),no.3(1997)-no.6(1997),no.8(1997)-2000,no.2(2001)-no.5(2001)
Select documents on international affairs 1966- by Australia. Department of Foreign Affairs.
Call Number: Law International Treaties Australia
ISBN: 0519-5950
Contains texts of international Treaties and Conventions in the preparation of which Australia participated but to which Australia did not become a party.

Databases and Online Sources

Australian Treaty Databases

Australian Treaties Library
Austlii Database
Australian Treaties Database
Produced by the Commonwealth Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, this database is an on-line resource for researching treaties to which Australia is a signatory, or where Australia has taken other treaty action.
Council of Australian Governments (COAG) - Treaties Council
The Treaties Council has an advisory role in relation to information about, and consultation procedures concerning, treaties and other international instruments of sensitivity or importance to the States and Territories, it is comprised of the Prime Minister and all Premiers and Chief Ministers.

United Nations Treaty Databases

The United Nations Treaty Collection
Provides access and information to treaties and international agreements deposited with the U.N in accordance with Article 102 of the UN Charter.

Australian Indigenous Treaty Project

The Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements (ATNS)
The Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements (ATNS) project is an ARC Linkage project examining treaty and agreement-making with Indigenous Australians and the nature of the cultural, social and legal rights encompassed by past, present and potential agreements and treaties. The project also examines the process of implementation and the wider factors that promote long term sustainability of agreement outcomes.

Government Documents - Australia: Treaties

Locating Treaties

Databases and Online Sources