Subject guides: EndNote: Collecting References

Direct Export from a Database

We recommend the Chrome or Firefox Internet browser for browsing our databases and transferring records to EndNote.
Most databases will have an option to “export to…” or “save references to…” button that will enable you to save to EndNote.

Example: Direct export from ProQuest databases (eg.ProQuest Central, ProQuest Science Journals, ProQuest Research Library)

Leave your EndNote Library open.
Open your Internet browser and go to the Library homepage: https://Library.sydney.edu.au/.
Click on Databases.
Click on P under Browse databases A-Z by Title.
Scroll down the list of databases until you find the ProQuest databases.
Click on the database you wish to search.
Search the database on your topic of interest.
Select citations from the first page of hits to add to your EndNote Library.
Click on the Save link.
In the Export/Save drop-down menu select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.).
Under Select Fields to Display select the Citation, abstract, indexing and Click on Continue.
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file ProQuestDocument…ris to trigger the direct export.
The records will appear in your EndNote Library.

Export References from Library Search

Leave your EndNote Library open.
Open your Internet browser and go to: https://Library.sydney.edu.au/.
Search for the item that you want to export from Library Search on the Library Homepage.
Your search results will be displayed.
Click on the show actions options on the top pane.
Click on Export To Endnote/RIS from list.
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file export-endnote…ris to trigger the direct export.
Your selected references will appear in EndNote.

Export References from Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular research literature search engine. The University Library collection can be accessed directly when searching Google Scholar via the University proxy. Searching this way will enable you to authenticate as a University of Sydney student or staff member and access full-text and/or Library holdings directly from your Google Scholar search results. To activate this feature, search Google Scholar via the Library Databases list.

Leave your EndNote Library open.
Open your Internet browser and go to: https://Library.sydney.edu.au/.
Click on Databases.
Click on G under Browse databases A-Z by Title.
Scroll down the list and click on Google Scholar.
From the Google Scholar homepage, select Settings.
Under Bibliography manager, select the option to Show links to import citations into
Select Endnote from the drop-down list provided
Save your settings
Search Google Scholar on your topic of interest.
Click on cite symbol ”
Select the reference style you wish to export then click on EndNote.
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file scholar (#).enw to trigger the direct export.

Exporting multiple references from Google Scholar

Create a Google Account. In order to use the personalised features of Google Scholar, such as My library, you'll need to create a free Google account.
Search Google Scholar on your topic of interest
Click the star icon (*) below the search results and saved your articles uoi with to download into My library.
Click on My library from top right-hand corner.
In My library select the references you wish to export to EndNote.
Click on the export button and select EndNote
The file may export direct to EndNote or may appear in the bottom left of screen above the Start menu. Click on the file scholar (#).enw to trigger the direct export.

Import records manually from a database

Not every database supports direct exporting - to get references into your Endnote Library, you will need to save the results as a text file, and manually import them into your library.

1. Select File, then Import from the Endnote toolbar

2. This will bring up an Import dialog box. Click Choose File... and browse to the downloaded file with the results to be imported.

Under Import Option select the appropriate filter. If the filter you need is not listed, select the Other Filters... option and browse for the database you are importing from. These entries can also have information about how to import or other factors to be aware of when using the filter.

Leave the Duplicates and Text Translation menus as they are, press Import, and the records will be in your library.

Import dialog

3. What if the filter you need has to be downloaded from another website? The safest and easiest way to do this is to follow these steps.

Save the filter (a .enf file) to your desktop
Right click on the filter file and choose copy or cut
Open up My Computer
Browse to your Endnote installation folder (default is C:\Program Files\EndNote yourversion) and then choose the Filters folder
Paste the filter into that directory (Right Click - Paste)
and the filter should now appear under the other filters list within Endnote.

Manually

From the toolbar select References > New Reference
The template defaults to a Journal Article reference. Use the Reference Type drop-down menu at the top of the screen to change the selection (e.g. Book, Web Page)
Enter the required information in the empty fields displayed (you do not need to fill them all out, just the fields required for a complete citation)
Enter Author information as:
- Single author: Surname (comma) initial (full stop) – if there is
- More than one author: Select the Enter key after entry of each author name (each author must appear on a new line)
- Corporate author: enter a comma after the organisation name (e.g. World Health Organization,).
Use capitalisation as recommended by the bibliographic style you are using.
Once finished entering your reference information, select File > Save.
Select File > Close Reference to return to your Library.
Your reference will be previewed in the panel at the bottom of the screen. Use the drop-down menu at the top left of the screen to change the bibliographic output style.

Popular Reference Types

Book for a book or a report written by one or several authors.
Book section for a chapter in a book or articles from a conference.
Edited book for edited books (anthologies).
Journal Article for printed journal articles.
Web Page for documents found online or Web page

Some fields are mandatory for a complete reference

Books:

Author, title, year of publication, publisher, place of publication. If the book has several publishers, choose the first one. The also applies to place of publication. If a book has several editions, you need to write which one you are using, for example 2nd, 4th and so forth

Articles:

Title and author of the article, journal name, volume, issue and page numbers.

Web Page / Web Documents:

Title and author, year of publication, web address (URL), retrieval date and the latest update date.

Custom Groups

You can use groups to sort references by subject or study field. Groups make it easier to keep track of your library’s references. A reference may be linked to several groups. Even though a reference is linked to a group, you will still find it in All References.

The left pane of the Library window lists all the Groups in the current Library

Use Group funtion to group references together (it may be for an assignment, a topic etc)
From the toolbar select Groups and click on Create Group
Enter a name for the Group OR click on My Group and right click on the mouse, select Create group then enter a name for theGroup.
Click on All References at the top of the Groups pane to view all references in your Library.
Highlight references you wish to add to the Group in the main window (select individual papers by holding down the Ctrl key and selecting references with your cursor).
From the Groups menu at the top of the page, select Add References to… and choose your
Group name from the list OR Highlight references you wish to add to the Group in the main window.
Drag and Drop the selected references onto the group in which you wish to place them.

Smart Groups

Use Smart Groups to automatically add references to a Group if they match specific criteria (e.g. all articles by a particular author or articles containing a certain keyword etc.)
From the toolbar select Groups and select Create Smart Group
A search box appears. Enter a name for your Smart Group.
Enter criteria for your search (e.g. Year is greater than 2006).
Click Create.
A new Group will appear under Smart Groups at the left of the page.
As you add more references to your Library, references meeting the search criteria will be automatically added to your Smart Group.

Group Sets

Create Group sets to organise your groups into sets. You can create up to 500 group sets.
From the toolbar select Groups > Create Group Set
Enter the name of the Group Set
You can create sub groups under your Group Set using any of the methods described for creating groups above.

Delete Groups

Select the group you wish to delete then go to Groups and click on Delete Group. Your group will be deleted but references will remain under All References.

Create from Groups

If you want to make a new group from a combination of several groups, go to Groups and select Create from Groups. Select groups from the list to create new combination group

The Find Duplicates window highlights fields that contain non-matching text so you can quickly compare the records and remove duplicate references from your Library. This feature should ideally be used immediately after exporting new references to your Library, to avoid unnecessary complications when you use the Cite While You Write functions in Word.

Select References > Find Duplicates
The Find Duplicates window will appear (see below).
Compare each set of duplicate references.
Select Keep This Record to identify the reference you wish to keep or select Skip to keep both references in your Library.
On completion of finding duplicates, go to the Trash under My Library in the left pane.
Right click to empty trash and remove the duplicate references from your Library.