Skip to main content

Government and International Relations: GOVT2991 Political Analysis Resources

GOVT2991 Political Analysis

This page has been provided to assist students studying GOVT2991 Political Analysis to use the library and Internet-based research databases to locate and analyse primary source material on a chosen topic. 

Listed below are useful Library subject guides and databases that will assist with this task. Class notes from the Library tutorial in week 5 can be found here

Policy Studies

The Policy Studies Subject Guide supports research in policy studies with a specific emphasis on Australian Social Policy. 

The Guide will help you identify:

  • Government departments and agencies involved in creating policy
  • sources where policy is published or recorded
  • sources which allow you to trace the history of a specific policy area
  • sources which analyse and discuss policy

Government Documents - Australia

The Government Documents - Australia subject guide assists you in finding Australian Government and Parliamentary publications and documents.

Media & Communications - Journalist Toolkit

The Media & communications subject guide has a page listing information useful for journalists.

The Toolkit homepage also includes links to sources on

  • Country Information
  • Speeches
  • Biographical Sources

Statistics - Australian

The Statistics - Australian subject guide provides a comprehensive guide to Australian statistical sources.

The Guide will help you identify:

  • Key Statistical Sources for Australia
  • Databases & Data Archives
  • Historical Australian Statistics
  • Links to International Statistical sources 

Key Database collections

A number of the Library's Database collections will be useful for searching for resources

Other useful sites include

Archived Websites

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. It focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, so can be used across the social, behavioural, & health sciences, and more. It helps you design and conduct your own research projects, understand and teach research methods, and write up findings. Includes journal, book, & reference content, quantitative & qualitative tools.