Skip to main content

Exercise and Sport Science: Managing Systematic Review Search Results using EndNote

Step 1: Creating Group Sets & Groups

Once you export references into your library. It is very important to organise these references into specific groups to keep track of your references.

Step 2: Exporting search results from Databases

Export search results from each database to EndNote and move to appropriate group(s).

Step 3: Annotating the record with database details

Change/Move/Copy fields functions will help to add additional information to exported records, such as database name and the date and time that you have exported the search results.

Please note,

·         Importance of making sure only showing references are selected before using the mass update function

·         Importance of checking everything before using the mass update  because it can’t be undone e.g. if you accidently choose ‘keywords’ instead of another field you might wipe over important data

Step 4: Documenting Search results

This Search Tracker (Excel sheet) will help you to document information about your searches that you will need to keep track of:

  • Database names with the platform
  • Export Date
  • Search strategies for each database
  • Number of results from each database
  • Limitations
  • Duplicates

Step 5: Finding the duplicates and removing the duplicate record(s)

Once you have exported all your search results into Endnote, you will need to identify and delete any duplicate record(s). EndNote can automatically eliminate duplicate references if it includes the same author/s, year of publication and title as another record within the Library.

Step 6. Creating customised fields to add reviewer's comments

You can create custom records to add specific information about the record. This may be used to assist systematic reviewers to code references.

Once you create custom fields you can adjust the EndNote library window to display the customised field. This will help you to identify the record easily.

Step 7: Sharing EndNote library

You can share your EndNote library with your supervisors using EndNote web.

Step 8: Finding full text articles and attaching full text articles manually

Endnote offers the option to find the full-text of the references downloaded to your EndNote library. You can also manually attach an article(s) which are not available via the "Find full text" function in EndNote.

Step 9: Viewing and annotating PDF files

The PDF Viewer panel allows you to open, preview and annotate your attached PDF files in your EndNote library.

Step 10: Exporting the Endnote library to Excel

Once you have selected your references for your systematic review you can export the references to Excel for ease of use. You can also create graphs and  tables etc.

FeedBack