Subject guides: Linguistics: Online Resources

Australian Languages

AUSTLANG
Austlang provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages. AUSTLANG can be searched by using the mapping feature, by language name (including a range of spellings); placenames and via the codes if you already know them.
First Languages Australia
First Languages is an advocacy group that provides a variety of resources on Indigenous languages.
Indigenous Australian Languages
From the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
Aboriginal Languages of Australia
This independent site has annotated links to 140 resources for about 40 of Australia's indigenous languages.
Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages
The open access archive contains thousands of authentic texts in Indigenous languages of the Northern Territory, many with English translations and rich illustrations.
Australian Voices
Resources gathered by Macquarie University which explore the various languages and accents found in Australia.

Glottolog
Reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.
more...less...
Information about the different languages, dialects, and families of the world ('languoids') is available in the Languages and Families sections. The References section contains bibliographical information. You can query the bibliographical database by filtering the table view or using a complex query involving genealogical affiliation, document type, and macro-area.
World atlas of language structures (WALS)
A large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors (many of them the leading authorities on the subject).
About World Languages
The Technology Development Group initiated the development of this comprehensive website dedicated to the description of the world’s most populous and important languages as well as a wide variety of other relevant information about world languages and language study.

Applied Linguistics Association of Australia
ALAA is the national organisation for applied linguistics in Australia. It aims to provide leadership in applied linguistics and supports the development of teaching, learning and research in the field.
more...less...
ALAA includes national and international members and is affiliated with the Association Internationale de Linguistique Appliquée (AILA).
Australian Linguistic Society (ALS)
The national organization for linguists and linguistics in Australia. Its primary goal is to further interest in and support for linguistics research and teaching in Australia. The Australian Linguistic Society is one of the two main linguistics societies in Australia.
Center for Applied Linguistics
A non-profit, private organisation providing up-to-date links and resources on the teaching and learning of languages and on language and culture.

The Linguist List
A moderated site providing links to information on the profession, jobs, mailing lists, conferences, research support, pedagogy and linguistic publications.
Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-index
An historic Stanford University guide to the best linguistic resources on the web. Contains an array of links to a wide range of American, Australian and European linguistic sites.
Utrecht lexicon of linguistics
Provides easily accessed authoritative definitions for thousands of technical terms in the field of linguistics. The Lexicon may be searched or browsed.
Created and maintained by faculty members at the Utrecht Institute of Linguistics.
SIL International
Formerly the Summer Institute of Linguistics, this site has links to academic domains in linguistics, including Computing, Sociolinguistics and Translation.

Google ngram viewer
Enter phrases into the Google Books Ngram Viewer. It will display a graph showing how those phrases have occurred in a corpus of books over a selected time frame