Includes the collections:
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files, Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War, India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department, Evangelism in Japan: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1859-1911, Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations, 1930 - 1949...
Publications from the Church Missionary Society, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters with the peoples of Africa, China, India, Japan, the Middle East and South America.
Fully-searchable English-language newspaper published in Japan since 1897. A pioneer of overseas-focused journalism, it focused on how to report Japanese issues to a non-Japanese audience. Intensive coverage of Japan and East Asia.
Access from 1897 - previous year (loaded 2nd quarter following year)
Titles include: South China Morning Post (1903-1996) Chinese Newspapers Historical Collection (1832- 1953) (24 chinese newspapers, published in English or Chinese / English / Russian.) The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003) The Times of India (1903-1996) The Washington Post (1877-1999)
Subject Directory and Full text material.
Produced by the University of California, San Diego, this site contains book reviews and critical essays on the historiography of modern China, as well as a guide to English
Series 1: The treaty system and the Taiping Rebellion, 1842-1860. 21 vols.
Series 2, the United States, China, and imperial rivalries, 1861-1893, 18 vols.
Series 3, the Sino-Japanese War to the Russo-Japanese War, 1894-1905, 14 vols.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service provided English translations for newspapers, media reports and political speeches produced in East Asia, 1980 - 1996; China 1974-1996 and Asia & Pacific, 1980 - 1987.
Full text resources for Chinese History - require a login
China from Empire to Republic is a collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949.
The complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in this period. Eye-witness accounts and detailed reports on life in China, 1949-1976. In depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures. Material on the Korean War, the Cold War, US relations and the Cultural Revolution.
Six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape. Date Range: 1817-1901
Allows access to many previously unseen albums, envelopes and private collections and also major collections such as Historical Photographs of China, the Sir Robert Hart Collection and Joseph Needham's Photographs of Wartime China.
The PRC History Group is a network of scholars with interests in the history of the People’s Republic of China. It provides links to primary sources on the history of the PRC and include decades prior to the official change of state power in 1949. There are also discussion boards and research notes
This resource contains a database of art posters from the Cultural Revolution. After logging in, you can select English. Choose 'Fine Arts' from the left frame and it is called “Red Revolution in China” or “Chinese Red Art” 中国红色艺术馆