Skip to Main Content

Aboriginal Studies: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children's and YA Literature

Books from the Curriculum collection

More titles from the Curriculum collection

Indigenous readers

Indigenous literacy materials for students learning to read and write.
These titles also showcase Australian Indigenous artists. Titles below are just a sample of the materials held in Fisher Library's specialist Curriculum Collection.

The Honey Ant Readers. The Library holds collections of Indigenous literacy material.  Check Library Search to locate Honey Ant Readers currently available and Indij readers little and big fullas

View Honey Ant Teaching resources on the web.

Aboriginal Legends

Non Fiction from Magabala Books

Find more titles from other collections...

Library Databases

Library databases index the literature in the field. Before searching a database break down your question into the main concepts, list search terms and synonyms, then use these terms to search for your concepts. Not all records in the database will have full-text links, if the full-text is required consult Library Search. See below, links to Informit databases which specialise in Australian content.

Reconciliation teaching resources

Australian Aboriginal history books

Finding books using Library Search

o find books on a topic, start by searching for your keywords in Library Search, the University of Sydney's Library Catalogue. Look for a title that is relevant, then scroll down to view the Subject Headings which you can click on to find more titles on the topic.

Click on the following subject headings to find books on these topics: 

Aboriginal Australians

Torres Strait Islanders

Children, Aboriginal Australian, Juvenile fiction. 

Aboriginal Australians History

Aboriginal Australians Juvenile fiction

Aboriginal Australians Fiction

 Aboriginal Australians -- Legends

Aboriginal Australians Education

Aboriginal Australians Study and Teaching

Limit your searches further to Curriculum Collection, Fisher Collection or the Wingara Mura Library collection.

You can modify Library Search to find other material types such as Audio, Video, Kits, Objects/game  

Indigenous YA Fiction