Skip to Main Content

Aboriginal Studies: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Teaching Resources

Evaluating resources, Protocols

Resource guides

More resource guides

National Museum of Australia

Indigenous Images

National Museum of Australia brings to life the rich and diverse stories of Australia through compelling objects, ideas and events. They focus on Indigenous histories and cultures, European settlement and our interaction with the environment. The Museum is located in Canberra, ACT.

First Australians exhibition Image

Endeavour Voyage Exhibition 

Endeavour Voyage Exhibition image


Seven Sisters Exhibition image

Classroom Resources

Democracy and Citizenship Resources image

Featured Websites

Aboriginal History - City of Sydney website image

Aboriginal Histories – City of Sydney

Aboriginal peoples have lived in Sydney for thousands of years and the City celebrates their historic ties to the land. 

 

ABC Education - a rich resource for Aboriginal perspectives, includes teaching resources, videos, Digibooks, articles and audio files

ABC ATSI hitories and culture image

 

Colony – National Gallery of Victoria Exhibition Websites

Colony NGV exhibition image

NGV Australia hosts two complementary exhibitions that explore Australia’s complex colonial past and the art that emerged during and in response to this period. The exhibitions offer two parallel experiences of the settlement of Australia.

Guardian Australia - Special Reports

 

Reconciliation Australia

State Library of New South Wales

Eight Days in Kamay

Eora Exhibition Image

Common Ground

Aboriginal Literature

Dark Emu

AIATSIS

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)

The AIATSIS Library catalogue - MURA is an invaluable resource for researching many aspects of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives and contexts. Look for materials in the MURA catalogue then check if the University Library has the items. If the University Library does not have them use our 'Resource Sharing' service to request an Inter-Library Loan. 

Sydney sights and contacts

Weather and Geography

Mathematics - Aboriginal perspectives

Aboriginal Languages

Gambay: A map of Australia's First Languages

Reading Australia

Freely available, Reading Australia was created by the not-for-profit Copyright Agency with the goal of making it easier for teachers, through their passion and skills, to spread a love for Australian texts.

Planning lessons around books

Publishers increasingly provide additional resources for many of their publications.

from little things big things grow image

Aboriginal Art and Cuture

Library Collections

The University Library has eBooks (Unikey required for access), for example Remembering Lionsville: My family story; as well as print and eBooks from the publisher Magabala Books

The Curriculum Collection is a specialist collection of teaching resources. Please visit the collection on level 5 of Fisher (on the right as you walk in) and feel free to borrow as many items as you wish. 

Local government libraries have picture book collections, YA fiction collections and children's non fiction collections. 

State Libraries frequently include collections and digital collections that relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait islander communities within their states. Some have created resources to support teachers and students.