The map was developed along with the Encyclopedia of Aboriginal Australia as part of a research project. The Encyclopedia is available in libraries and contains more detailed information about the groups represented on the map.
Two-volume encyclopaedia providing extensive information about Aboriginal Australia, before and after European settlement. Entries discuss its people, culture, lifestyles, history and geography and cover major themes and subjects, sub-topics, and individual people and places.
The Rediscovering Indigenous Languages project aims to preserve and revitalise some of the oldest languages in the world by locating, digitising and providing access to Indigenous word lists, language records and other cultural documents.
Austlang provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages. AUSTLANG can be searched by using the mapping feature, by language name (including a range of spellings); placenames and via the codes if you already know them. Austlang has links to MURA (the AIATSIS catalogue); OZBIB (a curated bibliography about Indigenous Australian languages); and other online resources.
The Australian Indigenous Languages Collection at AIATSIS is their main source of research and is continually updated with research outcomes. It now contains over 4300 titles and has been independently found to be of such world significance that it has been placed on the UNESCO Australian Memory of the World Register.
Pathways contains the terms used to describe the items in the AIATSIS Collections. Including, a thesaurus for subjects relating to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, language groups and people, and place names.
The United Nations General Assembly has declared 2019 the International Year of Indigenous Languages (IY2019) to raise awareness of the crucial role languages play in people's daily lives. In Australia, of the estimated original 250 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages, only around 120 are still spoken.
Set on Groote Eylandt, this beautiful book invites children to look for animals in different habitats throughout the course of one day. Yirruwa yirrilikenuma-langwa, amiyembena yirrirringka yirruwa? When we go walkabout, what do we see? This edition includes a QR code link to hear Rhoda Larlara read the text in Anindilyakwa.
This picture dictionary is a valuable resource for school children and their teachers, for Warumungu speakers wanting to learn Warumungu literacy, and for anyone wanting to learn about the Warumungu language of Central Australia.