Skip to main content

Social Work : Honours & Higher Degree Research

The Literature Review

 

Your Research Strategy

Use this template to assist you in brainstorming your topic, identifying key words and subjects to search library collections and online databases. Fill in a separate checklist for different topic areas of your literature review.

Keep up to Date with Research Literature

Database alerting features allow you to keep up to date with the literature.

Receive monthly or weekly alerts of new articles on your topic in your email box.

The following databases have free alerting features, you can set up alerts on keywords and concepts, authors or journal titles.

Social Theorists

For titles on Social Theorists try searching under the following Subject Headings:

Sociologists

Sociologists -- Biography

Social sciences -- Philosophy

Feminist Theory

Finding Theses and Preparing your Doctoral Thesis

Blogs, Social Media, News Sites

Research Methodologies

Do a Library Search under the following subject headings for books on the following topics:

Social Service--Research--Methodology

Social Sciences--Research--Methodology

Dissertations--Academic

Resource sharing - borrow from another library

The library's Borrow from another library service allows you to request items not held in our library collections. 

SUPRA's HDR Guide

Attend a workshop

Use EndNote to cite while you write

Endnote is a software program used for managing citations and bibliographies. EndNote helps researchers organise references, which can then be used to format citations and create bibliographies automatically in word.

Endnote is freely available for University of Sydney staff and students. Download Endnote from The University of Sydney Library's Endnote guide. The  guide also provides access to online learning resources, tips for using Endnote with word and databases aswell as troubleshooting information.

APA 6th Style

Books

IMPACT: Find out how many times an article has been cited?