Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research - filter by subject, specialised database type, or search by database name or description.

Loading...

Databases status

Known issues with the Library's databases.
(Updated during weekdays 9am-5pm)

 
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired, or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Your views on trial databases are important - give us your feedback !
New
Academic OneFile is a peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
New
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.
Trial
Arcadian Library Online explores cultural heritage of Europe and the Middle East across the course of a millennium. Trial ends 4th September 2019
Give us your feedback
New
A suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, UK, the UK government's official archive.
New
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection from Henry Stewart Talks provides access to over 2,400 online, multi-media seminar-style talks, covering the latest research and development as well as the fundamentals of the fundamentals of the biomedical and life sciences, presented by many of the world’s leading experts.
New
Cabell's provides journal information & demographics, evaluation metrics, submission details, acceptance rates, publishing time-lines, and open access costs for select journals. Cabell consists of two databases - The Whitelist and Blacklist. "Author Services" is not included. We recommend reading the Journal Selection Policy for details of how the journals included in this tool are selected.

When accessing the database, please ensure you read the publisher’sTerms of Use
New
Provides access to full content of histories, American History, Ancient History & Classical Studies, Asian History, British & European History, Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre, Philosophy & Political Thought, Religion
New
China Premium provides time series data to enable macroeconomic analysis, trend monitoring and economic forecasting.
First time users will need to click on ‘Register now’ to create an account.
Please note: access is limited to 5 users
New
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
New
The Critical Studies and Performance Practice Collection features academic books from the Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints of Bloomsbury Academic.
New
Full-text access to a large number of key plays, plus background and contextual works on playwrights, genres, acting, stage craft, and more.
Arden Shakespeare and New Mermaid series plays display scholarly notes on mouseover. Includes unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books to offer a new way to engage with plays.
Access to Core Collection (texts) only. No access to video or audio files. | Using Drama Online
New
A magazine portal, currently hosting digital replicas of The New Yorker, New Statesman, Fortune, Time, Bloomberg Markets, Choice and several other titles.
New
Frontier Life contains documents from sixteen archives and libraries around the world. Covers a period of 1650 to 1920.
New
Covering the histories of fifteen key commodities, Global Commodities contains manuscript sources, rare books, maps, advertising, paintings, photographs and ephemera.
New
HathiTrust brings together collections of partner institutions. The repository supports both preservation and access, with a range of access services encompassing permitted uses of books digitized by Google and access to public domain content.
To access content subscribed by The University of Sydney, users must login through the institution account, by clicking on the ‘Login In’ link then searching for the ‘University of Sydney’ and entering there UniKey credentials. How to login to HathiTrust
New
This resource covers the history of economic thought during the period 1700–1914. It contains primary and secondary resources, including fulltext books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as thematic essays, and subject introductions on key themes.
New
A comprehensive, encyclopedic resource for information on horticultural food crops.
New
One of the world's largest collections of engineering and technology video resources with more than 10000 talks, presentations, lectures, training videos and news.
New
Access currently restricted to on-campus only. Single user only
Engineering Workbench is an engineering intelligence solution, provides online access to standards to which the Library subscribes to.
NOTE: Individual registration is required to use this database for first time use. After login at the IHS main Menu page, select IHS Engineering Workbench. First log-in via the Library, then click on ‘Register’ and register with your University of Sydney email. Use this profile for future logins.
Instructions on registration
Engineering Workbench quick Tips
Getting started on Engineering Workbench (Training videos)
  • Includes Australian content
New
Full text database covering a range of contemporary business issues including business law, economics, employment, finance, management, organisational psychology, taxation and training.
New
Covering all engineering disciplines and including archived data as well as the latest research.
New
Provides data collections, tools and standards to support language-related education, research and technology development.
Registration required: You must use a University of Sydney email address. Please allow up to 2 working days for your registration. You will be contacted by email once your registration to have access to the LDC has been accepted.
Register

For all enquiries please contact glen.smyth@sydney.edu.au
New
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides resources on the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports Ernest Dichter.
New
Collection of most authoritative ebooks and references for both introductory and specialized information on nanoscience and nanotechnology.
New
Over 400 plays from a theatre publisher Nick Hern Books featuring playwrights including Howard Brenton, Jez Butterworth, and Caryl Churchill.
New
Contains publication peer-review and editorial work, including peer review of manuscripts.
New
Collection of peer-reviewed summaries on range of topics including. Environmental Science, History, Multidisciplinary, Multidisciplinary Core, Religious Studies and Sociology & Criminal Justice Core.
New
Access to 6 subject collections: Literature, Communication, Education, Classics, Politics, Social Work
New
Peer-reviewed academic journal covering communication studies in relation to journalism.
New
This databse  includes tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. 
Chrome browser is recommended for effective use of multimedia collection.
Trial
Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including the Principles for Responsible Management Education, PRME, and guided by an international Advisory Board of academics, practitioners, policy-makers, and officers in third sector, government, and NGOs. Trial ends 20th September 2019
Give us your feedback
New
Times Literary Supplement is a cultural magazine, with essays/reviews on books, ideas and art of our times. The magazine also contains essays/review om Shakespeare, Schopenhauer and popular theatre to political theory.
  • Includes Australian content
New
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files.
title
Loading...