The library was founded as a documents repository in 1979 in response to a resolution of the Conference of Tribal Governments. Today, the library is among the largest indigenous peoples libraries in the world, containing over a 100,000 full text documents, reports, and publications from American Indian nations and indigenous nations from around the globe. Over 1700 documents have been digitized.
Articles from the postcolonial studies journal Published by the College of the Humanities and Social Sciences North Carolina State University, ISSN 1098-6944. Also includes links to other academic sites for post colonial and postmodern studies.
State, Society & Governance in Melanesia is the leading centre for research into contemporary issues of governance in Melanesia. Tthe SSGM's key objectives are to: encourage scholarship on governance and state-society relations ; generate dialogue throughout Melanesia and the Pacific Islands on these issues ; assist in bridging policy and research. The centre has many significant documents and papers available in PDF format for downloading.
Based at Iowa State University the goal of CIKARD is to "...collect indigenous knowledge and make it available to development professionals and scientists." Browse within subject categories or keyword search the CIKARD Database for citations. Subject areas of interest to Anthropologists include Indigenous management systems, traditional medicine, ecology, ethnobotany and sustainable agriculture. Some full-text information is available at the CIKARD site.
The general aims of the International Commission on the Anthropology of Food (ICAF) are to promote and coordinate collaboration and research in biological and social anthropology in regard to the sciences of food and nutrition, fostering in particular a pluridisciplinary approach.
The AusAnthrop site is dedicated to research and resources in anthropology, for academics as well as the layman. Special accent is on Aboriginal Australia, and more specifically on the Aborigines of the Western Desert cultural bloc.
provides access to collection data housed in the Department of Anthropology, California Academy of Sciences. The database includes over 14,000 digital images of collection objects focusing on materials from the indigenous cultures of western North America (exclusive of Mexico) and the Pacific Rim, including all Pacific islands and East Asia.
AnthroBase is a multilingual, searchable database of articles, theses, essays, reports, conference papers, field-notes etc., written by anthropologists and others with an interest in social and cultural diversity.
As part of the National Museum of Natural History, the Department of Anthropology maintains ethnographic, archaeological and human biological collections numbering over two million items from around the world and employs state-of-the-art collections management and care. Extensive holdings of fieldnotes, manuscripts, photographs, film, videos and sound recordings are housed in the National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives.