Subject guides: Business Law: Competition law

Legislation

Commonwealth Acts and Regulations

Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth)
The Australian Consumer Law appears in Schedule 2 (part of vol. 3).
Competition and Consumer Regulations 2010 (Cth)
Australian Competition and Consumer Law Legislation
Access competition and fair trading legislation for the Commonwealth and states via CCH IntelliConnect.

Commentary on legislation

Miller's Australian Competition and Consumer Law Annotated
Miller’s Australian Competition and Consumer Law Annotated contains the full-text of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth) with annotations/commentary written by Russell Miller. The annotations explain and analyse the law, and refer to relevant case law.
Australian Competition and Consumer Act Partner
This CCH service links to relevant regulations, commentary, and cases dealing with each section of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth).

Annotated competition and consumer legislation by Ray Steinwall
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021

NSW Acts and Regulations

Legal commentary

Australian Competition and Consumer Law Commentary
Access commentary on Australia competition law. A broad range of topics is covered including: cartel conduct; anti-competitive agreements; secondary boycotts; misuse of market power; exclusive dealing; resale price maintenance; mergers and acquisitions; access; pricing; etc.
Miller's Australian Competition and Consumer Law Annotated
Miller’s Australian Competition and Consumer Law Annotated contains the full-text of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth) with annotations/commentary written by Russell Miller. The annotations explain and analyse the law, and refer to relevant case law.
Competition, Consumer and Contract Law - CCH
The Competition, Consumer and Contract Law library within CCH provides access to cases, legislation, news and commentary in the areas of competition and consumer law, consumer credit, contract law, as well as sales and fair trading.
LexisNexis Practical Guidance - AU Consumer
Access practical guidance, checklists, tools, and commentary on Australian consumer law.
Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Lexis Advance
Halsbury's is an encyclopaedia that covers the laws of Australia. The service is broken down into 89 subject-based titles.
For an overview of Competition law, refer to: Title 420 - Trade and Commerce > I - Competition Law.
Laws of Australia - Westlaw Australia
Thomson Reuters' legal encyclopaedia is comprised of 36 broad subject areas including: 30. Restrictive Trade Practices.

Case law

ATPR - Australian Competition and Consumer Cases
Formerly named Australian Trade Practices Reports.
Access via CCH IntelliConnect (1974- ).
ACompT - Australian Competition Tribunal
Access the unreported version of judgments from the Australian Competition Tribunal via AustLII (1997- ).
FCA - Federal Court of Australia
The Federal Court (FCA) deals with competition law matters including cases on misuse of market power, mergers, exclusive dealings, or false advertising. Access the unreported version of FCA judgments via AustLII (1977 onwards).
ALR - Australian Law Reports
Access via Lexis Advance (vol. 1, 1973- ).
CLR - Commonwealth Law Reports
Access via Westlaw Australia.
Key judgments of the High Court of Australia since 1903.
FCR - Federal Court Reports
Access via Westlaw Australia.
Key decisions of the Federal Court of Australia since 1984.
FLR - Federal Law Reports
Access via Westlaw Australia (vol. 1, 1956- )

Commentary on cases

Australian competition law cases
View a summary of significant Australian competition law judgments written by Julie Clarke (Professor in Competition Law at the Melbourne Law School).

Competition law : cases and materials by John Charles Duns and Arlen Duke
Call Number: Law Library - 343.940723 13 C
ISBN: 0409336203
Publication Date: 2014
Competition law and policy by Philip Clarke; Stephen Corones; Julie Clarke
Call Number: Law Library - 343.940721 16 B
ISBN: 0195562895
Publication Date: 2011

CLAW2205 resources

CLAW2205 - research and referencing tips

Government & Regulators

Regulators

ACCC - Australian Competition & Consumer Commission
The ACCC's main responsibility is to "ensure that individuals and businesses comply with Australian competition, fair trading, and consumer protection laws - in particular the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth)."
NSW Fair Trading
NSW Fair Trading "safeguards the rights of all consumers and advises business and traders on fair and ethical practice." It also investigates "unfair practices and ensures that the products sold in NSW are safe and meet their regulations and safety standards."

Government materials

Previous competition law inquiries
Access the full-text of previous inquiries into Australia's competition laws including: Harper (2015); Dawson (2003); Hilmer (1993); Cooney (1991); Griffiths (1989); and Swanson (1976).

Journals

Specific journals

Australian Journal of Competition and Consumer Law
Access via Westlaw Australia (vol. 1, 1993- ).
Competition & Consumer Law Journal
Access via Lexis Advance from (vol. 1, 1993- ).
Australian Business Law Review
Access via Westlaw Australia (vol. 1, 1973- ).

Find journal articles on a topic

AGIS Plus Text
AGIS indexes a broad range of Australian law journals. Full-text coverage generally starts from 1999 onwards.
CaseBase Journal Articles
CaseBase provides catchwords and citation details for 100+ Australian and overseas legal journals. Not all articles are available in full-text.
Australasian Legal Scholarship Library via AustLII
Provides a search facility for over 43 academic law journals in Australia and New Zealand. More journals are being added with the aim of comprehensive coverage.
Westlaw Australia
Access a full-text collection of 20+ Australian law journals published by Thomson Reuters.
Lexis Advance
Enter your search terms (keywords) into the main search box at the top of the page.

To limit your search results to commentary, click on the AU Secondary Materials tab at the top of your search results page.

You can then use the left-hand menu to further limit your results by Content type e.g. journals, commentary, etc.

Books

Australian competition law by Alex Bruce
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780409353457
Publication Date: 2021, 4th ed.
Corones' competition law in Australia by Arlen Duke
Call Number: Law Library - 343.940723 15
ISBN: 0455240558
Publication Date: 2018, 7th ed.
Miller's Australian competition law and policy by Russell Victor Miller
Call Number: Law Library - 343.940721 48
ISBN: 9780455238265
Publication Date: 2018, 3rd ed.

News

Factiva
Use Factiva to search across major newspapers from Australia and overseas.
Australian Competition Law blog
Access updates on Australian competition law written by Professor Julie Clarke from the University of Melbourne Law School.
Current Australian competition cases
Access a table of current cases and recent decisions. Information compiled by Julie Clarke (Professor in Competition Law at the Melbourne Law School).
Competition and Consumer Law News
Hard-copy available in the Law Library - Journals 343.940805 1. Previously called the Australian & New Zealand Trade Practices Law Bulletin (TPLB).
Australian Commercial Law Tracker
This CCH service covers new developments in all areas of commercial law including competition law.
Australian Competition & Consumer Commission (ACCC)
Access media releases published by the ACCC.