This is the "Finding Standards" page of the "Standards and Patents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Standards and Patents  

A guide to finding standards and patents online
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2012 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/standardsandpatents Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Standards Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Types of Standard

A standard is a published document setting out specifications and procedures designed to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistently perform the way they were intended to. It establishes a common language which defines quality and safety criteria.

There are several types of standard. These include:

AS – Australian standard
NZ – New Zealand standard
BS – British standard
ISO – International standard
EN – European standard

 

 

Australian Standards Online database

Australian Standards Online (ASO) is the University of Sydney's primary search tool for searching Australian and International Standards. It contains a wide range of standards from Australia and elsewhere.

ASO provides full-text access to a wide range of current Australian Standards, draft Standards, and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright). International and other standards: ISO, IEC, DIN, ETSI, JIS, are available, but not in full-text.

If the item you require is not available, please contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian for further assistance.

Tips for using the ASO database:

 

·         - Limited number of licences available. If you get the message "All licences in use", try again later

 

·         - Remember to click “All” button when searching for non-Australian material

·        - “View standard” – pdf available

 - “Buy” or "Request to unlock" – unavailable (check for equivalent, which may be available)

 

ISO Standards

A limited number of ISOs are available online via the Australian Standards Online database. To access these, follow this procedure.

  1. Go to http://ezproxy.library.usyd.edu.au/login?url=http://www.saiglobal.com/online/autologin.asp
  2. Change the default setting from "Australian" to "All" by using the radion button
  3. Search for the ISO by number or keywords (e.g. "ISO 9000" or "Quality management systems")
  4. If visible, click on the View Document icon View Document icon
  5. If a different icon is visible, then the ISO is not available online

Some other ISOs are available in hard copy from the library. If the standard is not available online, then follow this procedure.

  1. Go to the library catalogue at http://opac.library.usyd.edu.au/ 
  2. Conduct a search either by ISO number or keywords (e.g. "ISO 31000" or "Risk management principles")

If the ISO is not held by the library in either online or hard copy form, the you can, if eligible, pleace a Document Delivery request (http://www.library.usyd.edu.au/borrowing/docdel/).

Alternatively, you can suggest that the item be purchased for the collection (http://www.library.usyd.edu.au/contacts/suggestpurchase.html).

 

ASTM Standards

Current ASTM Standards are now available on request from

library_astm@usyd.edu.au

(Please ensure that the request is sent from your university email account.)

The ASTM Digital Library is still available for technical content covering a wide range of materials and industries, including Special Technical Publications, manuals, technical papers and journals here.

You cannot access current standards from the database, you need to request them via email.

 

IEEE Standards

IEEE logo

 

The IEEE Explore database contains a complete set of current IEEE standards.

In order to search for IEEE standards, follow this procedure:

  1. Go to the IEEE Explore homepage
  2. Click on "Advanced Search"
  3. Under "Publications", deselect everything except "IEEE Standards"
  4. Run your search
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip