Skip to main content

Studies in Religion: Home

Key Resources for Studies in Religion

Fisher Library contains most of the material you will need but you are welcome to use all of the University of Sydney Libraries.

Other relevant Subject Guides include: History; Museum Studies; Philosophy

DATABASES:

ATLA Religion Database via OvidSP (1949 - present)  
References journal articles, books and reviews on religion, biblical studies and related fields, particularly in the West. 

Religious Periodicals via ProQuest  
Full text articles from academic and popular journals on religion. 

Philosopher’s Index via Ovid (1940 - present)  
References journal articles, books and reviews on philosophy and related disciplines.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  
Full text academic encyclopedias. It includes the Encyclopedia of Religion and the Encyclopedia of Buddhism.

Brill Reference Online  
Full text academic encyclopedias (includes the Encyclopedia of Islam, the Encyclopedia of the Qur’¯an and New Pauly for Classical mythology).

Anthropology Plus via Ebsco  
References to articles, books and reviews on anthropology, archaeology and related disciplines.

JSTOR  
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.

Proquest 5000  
Multiple databases covering disciplines within Media Studies and the Social Sciences and Humanities. Also includes a digitised collection of dissertations & theses

Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale InfoTrac (1980 - present)  
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals

Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge  
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.

 

Quick Links

Subject Guide

Kim Wilson