Last Updated: May 29, 2016
Great starting point for resources for both studying and teaching medicine. Also has top ten tools for students and staff undertaking research in the medical and health sciences.
Evidence based Practice
Collection of resources on all areas of evidence based practice. Includes tutorials, database lists and guidelines for EBP.
Epidemiology and statistics
Resources focusing on the use of statistics in health and medicine and epidemiology.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Great overview of Australian census data and related statistics sources.
Medicine for students
This guide is aimed at medical students and the resources and online tools useful for them.
This list of databases consists of some of the core databases that you will use when conducting research into Public Health:
Medline via OvidSP (1946 to present)
Comprehensive medical, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, preclinical sciences and public health database.
Global Health via OvidSP (1910 to present)
Global Health is an international public health database with subject coverage of global health, health promotion, health policy, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, animal sciences, parasitology & infectious diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, occupational health, toxicology, health services, and maternal & child health.
The Cochrane Library from The Cochrane Collaboration
A reliable source of up-to-date information and evidence based studies designed to support decisions taken in health care.
Cinahl via Ebsco (1982 - present)
Literature on allied and health and nursing.
Informit Online - Health
Australian focused database collection covering health, medicine, Indigenous health, mental health, drugs, alcohol, suicide, AIDS/HIV, health policy, health services, and rural health.
Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1950- present)
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Useful for health topics where social aspects are a factor.
PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806 - present)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
ERIC : Educational Resources Information Center via OvidSP (1966 - present)
References journal articles and unpublished documents on educational theory and practice. Indexes research on education policy and practice in development contexts.
Proquest ANZ Newstand
ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Business Source Premier via Ebsco (1922 to present)
Aggregation of business &economics journals, indexes and abstracts. Includes many full text scholarly journals. Provides company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies.