Music

This guide will help you to navigate library resources and information about music to support your teaching, studying and research. You will find our recommended databases and journals, as well as places to search for scores, listen to and watch music, and a selection of featured Indigenous Music Resources. Stay informed about upcoming events, exhibitions, and special materials relevant to your music studies.

Top resources

Explore the breadth of Library resources for music study and research, including top databases, journals, dictionaries and indexes.

Featured Indigenous music resources

Embedding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander knowledges, histories and cultures in the classroom is integral to the University of Sydney. Browse the following databases to learn more about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives in music scholarship, performance, and cultural practices.

  • Finding items at the Conservatorium Library

    How to search for scores and CDs and then locate them on the shelf at the Conservatorium Library.

    Learn how to find items at the Con Library

    • Score resources

    Easily find scores for your research and performance needs with a variety of databases specialising in free sheet music.

    Listen & watch online

    Discover digital music performance video and audio through these online music libraries.

    General resources

  • Music databases

    See the full list of Library-subscribed databases for music

    View all music databases

    • Reference resources

    Periodical and primary source resources

    Research from the Con

  • Articles, books and non-traditional research outputs

    Discover research from the Conservatorium of Music in the Sydney eScholarship repository.

    Browse research from the Con

  • Theses

    Discover theses from the Conservatorium of Music

    Browse theses

  • Research Exhibitions

    In collaboration with Sydney Conservatorium of Music staff and students, the Library co-curates engaging exhibitions to showcase the Conservatorium’s current research outputs and hosts events and performances for students and staff to learn more. Keep an eye on the Glass Space out front of the Conservatorium Library, as this will feature a new Music Research Exhibition each semester. 

    View all past exhibitions

  • Submit a proposal for a Research Exhibition

    The Conservatorium Library invites proposals for exhibitions from higher degree researchers (HDRs) and academics that represent new work at the forefront of music research practice and are innovative and reflect issues of current critical interest.

    Submit a proposal Email a librarian to find out more

  • Special collection

    Liturgical manuscripts

     

    Our collection of Spanish liturgical music manuscripts includes the Lamentations of Jeremiah, several graduals, antiphonals, kyriales, tropers and two rare processionals.

  • Related information

    Sydney Conservatorium of Music Visit the Conservatorium Library

  • Contact

    We're here to help, online or in person.

    Contact us