Skip to main content

Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education): Children's and Young Adult Literature

Children's and Young Adult Literature Guide

Children's and Young Adult Literature Guide

The guide is designed to support students in Education programs who are researching or using children's and young adult literature in their teaching practice and research.

In this guide you will find information about Library material including books, journal articles and databases; as well as the many web based resources that discuss, analyse, inform or promote interest in children's literature and young adult's literature.


Children's and young adult literature is an important part of Fisher Library's Curriculum Collection which includes recently published material but also literature published for children and young adults since the early twentieth century.

The Curriculum Collection has many new books for reader's of all ages. The Curriculum resources collection is on Level 5 of Fisher south includes picture books, books and readers for beginning and young readers and many books for your adult readers, fiction & non-fiction; as well as graphic novels, educational toys and models. These are just some of  the the latest to arrive! Browse new titles added to the Curriculum resources collection.

To find materials in the Curriculum collection search your keywords in the Library Catalogue and modify your search results to  limit by location- Fisher Curriculum.


Children's Book Council of Australia - Book of the Year Awards

You can find the Winners of the CBCA Book of the Year Awards in the Fisher Curriculum Collection, along with many of the titles on the Notables list.

 

Featured Book

Rules of Summer, written and illustrated by Shaun Tan, is available in the Fisher Curriculum collection, Level 5 Fisher south. 

Shaun Tan is an award winning artist, illustrator and author. In 2011 he was awarded Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, honouring his contribution to international children's literature. For more information on  Rules of Summer and his other books visit Shaun Tan's website. See also a Teacher's Guide to Rules of Summer, various essays and other information about his work. See also, this article which is called 'A conversation with illustrator Shaun Tan' by Chuan-Yao Ling from World Literature Today Sept/Oct 2008, 82(5)

Check the Library catalogue for other books by Shaun Tan held in University of Sydney Library collections.

 

 

Profile box

Contact Your Librarian

Education & Social Work Librarian

Christine Tennent

christine.tennent@sydney.edu.au

Ph 02 93513257

Fisher Library F03, University of Sydney 

Listopia from Goodreads/ Novelist

Goodreads Listopia:

YA Booklists and Young Adult Booklists

Picture Books


NoveList Database

Requires registration. Freely available from Local Public Libraries and the State Library of New South Wales eResources.

Enter Novelist Plus in the BY DATABASE TITLE search box