Locating Library Resources
This is the "Children's and Young Adult Literature" page of the "Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education)   Tags: children's non-fiction, picture books  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/literatureyoungadultschildren Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Children's and Young Adult Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Australian Children's Book week

The shortlist for Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) for 2013 has been announced! Many shortlisted titles held in Library collections. Short lists  for 2013 are available on CBCA website. The following are some of the shortlisted books held in the Fisher Curriculum collection.

Cover Art
The Ink Bridge - Neil Grant
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 823.92 G762 J3 1
ISBN: 9781742376691
Publication Date: Crows Nest, N.S.W. : Allen & Unwin, 2012
Older readers award

Cover Art
Sea hearts - Margo Lanagan
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 823.91 L243 J10
ISBN: 9781742375052
Publication Date: Crows Nest, N.S.W. : Allen & Unwin, 2012
Older readers shortlist

Cover Art
After - Maurice Gleitzman
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 823.91 G557 J23 1
ISBN: 9780670075447
Publication Date: Camberwell, Vic. : Penguin Group (Australia), 2012
Younger readers shortlist 2013

Cover Art
The tender moments of Saffron Silk - Glenda Millard
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 823.91 M6451 J10 1
ISBN: 9780733329838
Publication Date: ABC Books division of HarperCollins Publishers, 2012.
Younger readers shortlist 2013

Cover Art
The Terrible Suitcase - Emma Allen, Freya Blackwood (illus)
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 823.92 A425 J1 1
ISBN: 9781862919402
Publication Date: Parkside, S. Aust. : Omnibus Books, 2012
Early Childood Shortlist

Cover Art
Peggy - Anna Walker
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 821.92 W177 J14 1
ISBN: 9781742832708
Publication Date: Lindfield, N.S.W. : Scholastic Press, 2012
Early Childhood shortlist 2013

Cover Art
Sophie Scott Goes South - Alison Lester
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 823.91 L642 J34 1
ISBN: 9780670880683
Publication Date: Melbourne : Penguin, 2012
Picture book shortlist 2013

Cover Art
Lightning Jack - Glenda Millard
Call Number: Fisher Curriculum A 823.91 M6451 J16 1
ISBN: 9781741693911
Publication Date: Lindfield, N.S.W. : Scholastic Press, 2012
Picture Book shortlist 2013

 

Children's and Young Adult Literature Guide

Welcome to the University of Sydney Library's guide for Children's and Young Adult Literature. The guide is designed to support students in  Education programs who are researching or using children's and young adult literature in their teaching practice and research. This guide provides information about Library material including books, journal articles and databases and the many web based resources that discuss, analyse, inform or promote interest in children's literature and young adult's literature.

 

Fisher Curriculum Collection

The Fisher Library's Curriculum Collection is a specialist collection of books, journals, realia (educational toys/models), posters and audiovisual materials for teachers and students; spanning early childhood through to Year 12.

Children's literature is an important part of the Curriculum Resources Collection. The collection includes quality and comprehensive fiction, non-fiction and picture book collections. There is alo a growing collection of graphic novels. The  collection includes recently published material but also literature published for children and young adults since the early twentieth century.

To find materials in the Curriculum collection search the Library Catalogue and modify your search results to Fisher Curriculum.

 

Featured Book

This Is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen, published by Candlewick Press winner of the Caldecott medal  awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (American Library Associaltion) to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Copies of the book are available in the Fisher Curriculum collection, Level 8 Fisher Library Fisher Curriculum C 823.92 K63 J1 1  Find out more about Jon Klassen on the  web or check the Library catalogue for other books by or illustrated by Jon Klassen 

 

Profile box

Contact Your Librarians

library.edsow@sydney.edu.au  

Philippa Crosbie & Christine Tennent

Fisher Library F03, University of Sydney NSW 2006. Australia

 

News....

50 best children's apps for smartphones and tablets from the Guardian Newspaper's Website.


 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip