This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics  

Last Updated: Jun 2, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/linguistics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Resources for Linguistics

Fisher Library contains most of the material you will need but you are welcome to use all of the University of Sydney Libraries.

Other relevant Subject Guides include: English; Media and Communications 

 

DATABASES:

MORE DATABASES:

  • Encyclopedia of language & linguistics via ScienceDirect 
    An encyclopedia of all matters related to language and linguistics.
  • Google Scholar 
    Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publications subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
  • Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME) 
    An historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.
  • Oxford Reference Online : Premium plus Western Civilization Collection 
    Access to guides to English grammar and usage as well as over 130 dictionaries.
  • Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1950's - present) 
    References articles, books and web resources on on Sociology and sociolinguistics.
  • Project Muse 
    Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
  • Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge 
    One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases with coverage of Linguistics. It also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
  • Proquest Arts Research 
    Search a number of Arts & Humanities databases together (including Art Bibliographies Modern, DAAI, Music, Performing Arts, Newspapers and Theses) and retrieve many full-text articles.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text via Ebsco (1908 - present) 
    Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related fields. Full text of key journals from 1908, abstracts from 1895, books and conference papers, author profiles. 
  • Scopus 
    Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
    Dissertation & Theses Full Text 
    Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities.

 

      

    Subject Guide

    Kim Wilson
    Contact Info
    Academic Liaison Librarian for the School of Letters, Arts & Media (SLAM)
    ph: 9351 2562
    Send Email

    Quick Links

    Referencing

    Essay Writing

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip