Skip to main content

EndNote: Troubleshoot & FAQ

Mac users

EndNote for Mac: macOS Catalina Compatibility

Apple has released macOS 10.15 Catalina this October. Apple has made the decision to drop all 32-bit application support, meaning that macOS 10.15 Catalina will not run EndNote X8 and earlier versions. We strongly recommend you update to the latest EndNote (EndNote X9.3). We have detailed information at this link: What do Mac users need to do?

Please use the latest versions of Microsoft Word 2016 and EndNote X9, to ensure compatibility.


If you're a Mac user, the first thing to try is opening Endnote, going to the 'Endnote X9' menu, and running Customizer.... This process will reinstall CWYW tools, and that should fix the problem.

If this doesn't fix the issue - or if you are using a PC - visit this helpful guide from Clarivate.


This is happening because Word is trying to connect to Endnote online. It's really easy to fix.

  1. Go to the Endnote menu in Word and select 'Preferences'
  2. In the box that pops up, select the Application tab
  3. Currently, Word will have 'Endnote Online' selected. Change the selection to 'Endnote' and hit OK.


There are a number of common causes for this issue: usually it relates to incorrect data in the reference in an Endnote library.

Corporate authors
If you are citing a company or government agency, you will need to put a comma at the end of the full organisation name in the Endnote Library reference. (eg. University of Sydney,)

Initials appearing in-text
This usually means that the same author is appearing in your Endnote Library with multiple naming conventions. To fix this, simply go through your library and make sure the author field is the same for all publications: eg. Stephen Ball and Stephen J. Ball are the same person - use one or the other in all references.

Changes to references aren't showing in the document
Go to the Endnote menu in Word and select update citations and bibliography.

References look strange and appear in curly brackets
This means your document is in unformatted citations mode. Go to the Endnote menu in Word and select update citations and bibliography


This is happening because Endnote is seeing {squiggly brackets} and assuming this is a citation that it needs to update.

Squiggly brackets are the way Endnote identifies ‘unformatted citations’, so removing these should stop the ‘select matching reference’ window from popping up.

To do this, try clicking cancel on the window, or if it continues to appear just hit ‘ignore all’. Then find the part of your paper that has {squiggly brackets} and change those squiggly brackets to [square] or regular parentheses. This should fix that problem and you can continue referencing as usual (to test it, after you’ve removed the squiggles just go to the endnote menu in word and select ‘update citations and bibliography’).


Ouch, this usually happens if a Library is stored in a cloud service like Dropbox or Google Drive. Make sure your Endnote Library is stored on your local hard drive. You can set up an Online Sync solution by visiting our Backup & Sync page in this guide.

To repair your Library, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Endnote application, and select Tools > Recover Library...
  2. In the dialogue that pops up, navigate to your broken Endnote Library and select it. Make sure you save the recovered Library on your local drive.

Find Full Text tries to retrieve the fulltext of articles in your EndNote Library.

Configure Find Full Text:

Find Full Text is configured by default in the University's installer. If you find that the settings are missing, do the following:

Go to Edit > Preferences (on a Mac, EndNote > Preferences) and select Find Full Text.

  • OpenURL Path for easy copy & pasting:

            http://DD8GH5YX7K.search.serialssolutions.com

  • Authenticate with URL for easy copy & pasting:

            http://ezproxy.library.usyd.edu.au/login

If you are not working in the biomedical area, you can uncheck the PubMed Linkout box to speed up Find Full Text. If you are working on-campus, you can optionally leave the Authenticate with URL box blank.

Run Find Full Text

1. Select the References in your Library for which you want the full text.
2. Go to References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text....
3. If you are prompted to Login to eResources, do so. Click the Continue button, and Find Full Text will start.

 Full text will be retrieved for only some of the articles which you can access electronically. These factors will help:

  • Download your references from PubMed: If you have downloaded the references using the PubMed connection file, they will have links in the URL field which connect to the PubMed record on the web. EndNote can make use of the LinkOut links from PubMed to locate full text of articles.
  • Download your references from Web of Knowledge: If you have exported the references from the Web of Knowledge databases, they will have links in the URL field which connect to the Web of Knowledge record on the web. EndNote can make use of the Full Text links in Web of Knowledge to locate the full text of articles
  • Use your EndNote Web account: Set up an account in Web of Knowledge and use EndNote Web in conjunction with EndNote to aid in full text retrieval. Note that you should enter your EndNote Web username and password in the EndNote Preferences.
  • OpenURL: You must Enable OpenURL to use the Find Full Text function. The OpenURL Link command is likely to retrieve a higher proportion of articles than the Find Full Text command, but it can only be used for one article at a time, and you must manually save the retrieved PDF and attach it to the reference. To Enable OpenURL, go to Edit > Preferences > URLs & Links , and type http://DD8GH5YX7K.search.serialssolutions.com in the Open URL Arguments box.
  • Digital Object Identifier (DOI): If the record has a correct digital object identifier in the DOI field, EndNote can use that to locate full text of articles.
  • ISSN - an ISSN in your citation will also help.
  • More tips from EndNote

 4. Click to expand the Find Full Text heading in the EndNote left-hand menu, to see how many PDFs are being retrieved.

 

  1. Open the Word document that contains references that were inserted using Endnote (these are the ones that show grey highlighting when you click on them)
  2. Click on the Endnote toolbar
  3. Click on Export to Endnote
  4. Choose Export travelling library
  5. You will see a message giving you the option to add to an existing Endnote library or create a new one. Choose your preferred option


One of the most consistent causes of Endnote errors is out-of-date software. Often this comes from a concern about losing data, or rumours that updated software has compatibility issues.
Actually, software updates are designed to stay ahead of compatibility issues - particularly with Microsoft Office365 issuing more regular and smaller feature releases rather than giant updates. Software updates address security vulnerabilities, software bugs, and add new features over time. The easiest way to manage this is to switch on automatic updating - whether that is for MacOS, Microsoft Office, or Windows.
There's usually a big annual software update for some platforms, for example Apple's most recent update for MacOS called Mojave which replaces the previous High Sierra. Endnote also has (roughly) annual updates, for example X9 is a new upgrade to X8. These kinds of big updates can't be automatically scheduled, and users need to kind of 'opt-in' by requesting the update. This is worth doing.
In the past, advice has been to uninstall the old Endnote before upgrading to the new version, but this isn't essential. To ensure the safety and compatibility of Endnote Libraries (especially if they aren't backed up online), we recommend installing the new software, checking that everything works fine, and then uninstalling the old software to keep the system clean. Of course you can create a backup of your Endnote Library before doing this if you wish, just to be safe.
Most compatibility bugs in Endnote can be resolved with a software update.

Help!

If EndNote doesn't work properly in the first instance, check the Clarivate Support page.

If EndNote is still not working correctly, contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for further assistance.