Locating Library ResourcesIndigenous Film
This is the "Discovery - EDSE4027" page of the "Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education)   Tags: children's non-fiction, picture books  

Last Updated: May 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/literatureyoungadultschildren Print Guide RSS Updates

Discovery - EDSE4027 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Curriculum resources

The following resources are from New South Wales Government websites including the Board of Studies, the NSW Curriculum and Learning Innovation Centre, NSW Government School Libraries, and Information Literacy initiatives resources of other Universities, State and Public Libraries.

 

Research Databases

AUSTLIT & Black Words

AUSTLIT is the Australian Literature Gateway database. It references Australian literature published in both print and electronic sources. The database includes both creative and critical Australian literature and references the work of many Indigenous writers in a subset called Black words. Use the advanced search feature to scope your search to Black Words if required.

Read how you can use Austlit as a teaching resource. And Teaching Aust.Lit


More research databases...

A+ Education

A+ Education is an indexing and full text database that provides access to information on all aspects of Australian education with coverage from 1978 onwards.

MLA Modern Languages Association International Bibliography

The Modern Languages Association International Bibliography indexes scholarly works on literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore, in English, French, German, Italian and other languages.

JSTOR

Full-text of major academic journals and scholarly literature from around the world. The last five years are not available in this database.

Project Muse

Full text journal database useful for multidisciplinary research in arts, social sciences and humanities.


Novelist (Available from the State Library of NSW and many public libraries)

NoveList includes NoveList K-8 which is a reading resource that teachers and students can use to locate fiction and non-fiction within many different genres. NoveList Plus K-8 also includes Recommended Reads, feature articles, reading lists and curriculum driven material.

 

Sample HSC research module: Area of Study Discovery

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Guide is designed for pre-service education students undertaking Teaching English units of study. The Area of Study: Discovery is used sample research module.

The Fisher Library Collections include many resources relevant to the concept of 'discovery'. The Fisher Curriculum collection holds all required texts and many additional resources that are relevant to the 'discovery' area of study. The Fisher collection is also an important resource for many text types novels, non-fiction and film that may be used as additional stories. Both collections include and critical works that analyse and discuss works relevant to the many contexts and notions of  belonging, identity, place, communities and immigration. 

Research strategies

Think about and analyse terms, subjects and ideas that will help you locate additional texts and critical material on this Area of study

   ..........discovery, invention, self-knowledge, self-acceptance, identification, perception, exploration, scientific discoveries .......

Explore the Curriculum collection use the Library Catalogue's advanced search and do a keyword search on discovery and limit the search to the Library Curriculum Resources Collection

Try the Library CrossSearch to find journal articles and newspaper articles, as well as books that critically analyse or discuss your topic

Use the curriculum web  resources in this guide to locate related texts and other resources for your teaching practice

Find newspaper articles and stories in the Factiva or Proquest NewsStand databases

Learn more about research by using the University of Sydney Library Information Skills modules 

For assistance with any of the resources shown in this guide please contact Christine Tennent christine.tennent@sydney.edu.au 

 

Explore web resources..

Websites for the authors and works for the Discovery area of study may help students further explore the poetry, media, drama, fiction & non-fiction required.  

Fiction & nonfiction texts

Listen, read and watch The ABC Book Club, The Writer's Room or Radio National Books & Arts Daily 

Visit an author website e.g. Bill Bryson or read an author's blog James Bradley  follow author's on twitter Tara June Winch or find a website about an author and their works Kate Chopin watch a clip on youtube 'Che' Guevara  or an interview with Ang Li discussing the Life of Pi. Search for Teachers's notes availble from many sources including Theatre Company websites, National & State Libraries... for.e.g Riverside Theatre Parramatta.  Rainbow's End by Jane Harrison 

Check the Copyright Agency. Reading Australia Website for Teaching resources e.g. Swallow the Air - Tara June Winch

Exploring narrative point of view: The hole 

Drama and Literature

Aboriginal Centre for the Performing Arts

Indigenous Drama at Australian Screen online

Australian Plays.org

Drama NSW

Drama Australia

Drama Teacher's Network. Lesson ideas and web tools for the drama classroom

Reading Australia

Kanopy streaming videos (requires Unikey to access)
Kanopy streaming videos and DVDs - a great resource for teachers & teacher education. Do a keyword search or search by author's surname, e.g. Che

Websites for Shakespeare (emphasis Tempest)  

Royal Shakespeare Company Tempest from Youtube   

Shakespeare Globe Education

Folger Shakespeare Library K-12 includes module on Teaching the Tempest

Bell Shakespeare

Poetry- Australian

Australia.gov modern Australian poetry site

Australian Poetry Library

Websites for poets Dobson, Gray, Frost

The Poetry of Robert Gray

Poetry of Robert Frost - Library of Congress

Poetry of Robert Frost - Library of Congress online resources

Rosemary Dobson - Australian Poetry Library

Divining Colander: the Poetry of Rosemary Dobson - ABC Radio National  - Poetica

Rosemary Dobson a celebration - National Library of Australia

Film & Documentary websites


NFSA - Film Australia Collection (good for finding images)

AFTRS - Libguides

Screen Australia

Australian Screen

Websites for Ivan O’Mahoney Go Back to Where You Came From

SBS Go back to where you came from includes page for Schools and Go Back to Where you came from School Pack


Websites for film maker Frank Hurley

Australia.gov Frank Hurley

ADB Frank Hurley

Australian Musuem Photograph collection

Thomas, Julian (1990) Showman the Photography of Frank Hurley National Library of Australia.

 

 

 

Featured Resources

The web offers many opportunites for locating interesting text types including online exhibitions and multimedia websites. Museums & Galleries of NSW will help you find exhibitions and other resources that may relate to your Area of study.


Use social media curation tools such as Pinterest or Scoop.it to organise, contribute or discusses resources for the Discovery Area of study.



Western Australia Musuem. Voyages of Grand Discovery

 


Sydney Review of Books

Sydney Review of Books was founded by the Writing and Society Research Centre at UWS in January 2013 as an online review site focusing on Australian writers and writing. Locate writing and news about Australian writers.

 


 Australian Curriculum Springboard and other links

Useful Journals

The following list includes journals where articles  are specifically related to the English syllabus.

Some of the journals below are published by the Library Services Division the NSW Department of Education and various associations including the English Teachers Association (New South Wales).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip