Other relevant Subject Guides include: Art History & Theory; Contemporary Art & Design; Media and Communications
Key databases for finding articles in Digital Cultures are listed below - these include databases for communications, media, computer science, engineering, sociology, politics or news.
- ACM Digital Library : Association for Computer Machinery (1985 - present)
Abstracts, reviews, and some full-text for articles published in Association for Computer Machinery periodicals and proceedings.
- Sociological Abstracts (1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology and social policy.
Hosts ebooks and 950 academic peer-reviewed journals across a variety of disciplines, published by Taylor and Francis.
Full-text for major journals in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years are not available in this database.
- Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale InfoTrac (1980 - present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals
- Proquest Central
Multiple databases covering disciplines within Media Studies and the Social Sciences and Humanities. Also includes a digitised collection of dissertations & theses
Full text newspaper articles and pictures of over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications, from mid-1980s onwards. Excellent for reviews and opinion pieces.
- Worldwide Political Science: WPSA via Proquest
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in current affairs, political science, media and social sciences.
- ABM : ART Bibliographies Modern via Proquest (1970's - present)
References journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catlogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibitions reviews on all forms of contemporary art.
- IEEE Xplore
Provides full text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
A database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
An extensive science database with good coverage of computer and other sciences. Use for citation searches and analysis, and complex author, journal and subject searches.
- Google Scholar
Provides direct links to academic papers on the web, as well as some journal articles which may be subscribed to by the University of Sydney. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles.
A large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.