This is the "Home" page of the "CrossSearch" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: Mar 18, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

What is CrossSearch - the search box on the Library home page

CrossSearch is an ideal starting point for your research. It's a simple, 3-step search process : Search, Refine, Get results

homepage search box

Unlike the Library catalogue, CrossSearch enables you to search inside a range of material types and sources simultaneously, including:

  • print and electronic books, journals and articles, multimedia, theses, eRepositories, newspapers, and more.

Your results are ranked by relevancy but for better results there are further options to refine and sort results by year, format, library location (for print items), subject disciplines or tags, and language. You can even limit to scholarly or electronic full text items.

Snapshot of CrossSearch with explanation tags


CrossSearch or a specialist database?

CrossSearch is a discovery tool designed to provide a fast and simple way to begin researching a topic. It covers many subject areas, but is not good for Law (cases and legislation), or News stories. Some subjects such as Medicine always rely on specialised resources.

It is designed for:

  • a wide sweep and quick retrieval of relevant items across print and online and across local and subscribed resources
  • quick connection to online resources
  • facilitating the 'drilling down' or 'post-filtering' of search results.

CrossSearch is not a replacement for specialised print and electronic finding tools which offer more sophisticated searching options and a targeted subject scope.  Use the Library's Databases home page to identify and access individual databases.

Not all research databases or eJournals are included in CrossSearch so use other resources, such as the Catalogue and individual databases, as well!. 


CrossSearch or Google?

CrossSearch can search material in The University of Sydney's local resources and subscribed on-line databases that is 'invisible' to Google and GoogleScholar and therefore would not show up in Google's search results.

Unlike Google, CrossSearch is designed to specifically search across information resources selected by academic staff to support The University of Sydney's teaching and research.


Start your search

Search the catalogue and most of our eJournals together

Advanced CrossSearch


Loading  Loading...