Quick information online
Merck Veterinary Manual
Online veterinary encyclopedia
MIMS Online
Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. Provides full information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. Full colour product identification pictures are available.
A dictionary of zoology [electronic resource] 3rd ed. 2009 - edited by Michael Allaby.
Encyclopedia of genetics [electronic resource] (rev. ed., 2004) - editor, revised edition, Bryan D. Ness ; editor, first edition, Jeffrey A. Knight.
Dictionary of animal behaviour [electronic resource] 2006 - David McFarland
Encyclopedia of life sciences
Oxford Reference Online
A suite of reference works including A dictionary of animal behaviour, A dictionary of biology and more ..
Access Science [electronic resource] : McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology online
Large scientific encyclopedia which includes articles on veterinary medicine.- More dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference material
Featured ScienceDirect eBooks for Veterinary Science
E-books will usually be included in the Library Catalogue - see also ScienceDirect
Veterinary Toxicology : Basic and Clinical Principles - Edited by: Ramesh C. Gupta
Veterinary Toxicology is a unique single reference that teaches the basic principles of veterinary toxicology to any student at the DVM, MS or PhD level and will continue to serve as a clinical reference for practicing veterinary toxicologists, poison control centers, marine biologists, environmentalists, and animal scientists. While most comparable texts are primarily directed toward the field of human toxicology, this is the one text needed to thoroughly prepare future veterinarians on the newest approaches for diagnosing poisoning cases in all animals from chemicals and plants of a diverse nature as a result of inadvertent, accidental, or malicious intents. Many chapters are provided on topics not covered in any previous books such as target organ toxicity, radiation and radioactive materials, FDA regulatory issues, and ethics in veterinary toxicology.
The rat nervous system (2004) - Edited by: George Paxinos
This third edition of the standard reference on the nervous system of the rat is a complete and updated revision of the 1994 second edition. All chapters have been extensively updated, and new chapters added covering early segmentation, growth factors, and glia. The book is now aligned with the data available in the Rat Brain in Stereotaxic Coordinates, making it an excellent companion to this bestselling atlas. Physiological data, functional concepts, and correlates to human anatomy and function round out the new edition.
Featured CAB eBooks for Veterinary Science
Selected records below - a full listing is available from CAB e-books
Crocodiles: biology, husbandry and diseases. (2003) - Editor(s): Huchzermeyer, F. W., et al.
This book was written for veterinarians, scientists, wildlife officials, students and crocodile farmers. The gathered data was based on years of work with farmed Nile crocodiles, some with wild and wild-caught African dwarf crocodiles in the Congo Republic, as well as on information from available literature. This book is a comprehensive reference on the biology, management and health of crocodiles, alligators and gharials. Emphasis is on diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of diseases as these occur on crocodile farms; clinical aspects of disease are also discussed. Photographs depicting various cases and conditions have been compiled. Anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, behaviour, nutrition, rearing, breeding, slaughter and welfare are also covered.
Giardia and Cryptosporidium: from molecules to disease (2009) - Ortega-Pierres, G., et al.
Giardia and Cryptosporidium are both parasites of considerable global interest due to the gastrointestinal problems the organisms can cause in humans as well as domestic and wild animals. This book presents an overview of recent research. The chapters discuss topics from taxonomy; nomenclature and evolution to molecular epidemiology; advances in diagnostics; and zoonotic, and human and animal health issues. The book serves as a reference for researchers and students in parasitology.
The behavioural biology of dogs. (2007) - Editors(s): Jensen, P.
This book provides an up-to-date description of the behavioural biology of dogs. It is written for students of animal behaviour or veterinary medicine at advanced levels and dog owners. This book is divided into 4 parts and 14 chapters. The first part (chapters 1-3) focuses on the evolution and development of the dog. The second part (chapters 4-8) deals with the basic aspects of animal behaviour with particular emphasis on dogs. The third part (chapters 9-12) places the modern dog in its present ecological framework in the niche of human coexistence. A broad overview of the behavioural aspects of living close to humans is given. The fourth part (chapters 13 and 14) focuses on behavioural problems, their prevention and cure.
Diseases and disorders of finfish in cage culture. (2003) - Editors(s): Woo, P. T. K. Bruno, D. W. Lim, L. H. S.
This book discusses the diseases and disorders of finfish in cage culture. It is divided into 4 parts. Part 1 discusses the cage culture system and contains 2 chapters: (1) introduction and history of cage culture; and (2) overview of cage culture. Part II discusses coldwater fish and contains 3 chapters: (3) infectious diseases of coldwater fish in marine and brackish water; (4) infectious diseases of coldwater fish in fresh water; and (5) non-infectious disorders of coldwater fish. Part III discusses warmwater fish and also contains 3 chapters: (6) infectious diseases of warmwater fish in marine and brackish waters; (7) infectious diseases of warmwater fish in fresh water; and (8) non-infectious disorders of warmwater fish. The last part only contains 1 chapter: (9) sporadic, emerging diseases and disorders.






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait