Searching for a specific e-journal?
Use the Library catalogue to search for print and electronic titles or use our E-journal portal which also allows you to browse by subject.
Australian Veterinary Journal

Loading RSS Feed...
Veterinary Record
Key Databases for Veterinary Science articles

Search databases to find journal articles. To find out if the library has access to a book or journal check the Library catalogue
- Medline via ISI Web of Knowledge (1966 - present) General medical database. Topics covered: General Veterinary Surgery, Domestic animals, Cats, Dogs, Pharmacology, Anaesthesia, Animal Diseases, Zoonoses, Ethics
- CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present) Agricultural database, covering local and international material. Topics covered: Agricultural Animals, Horses, Cattle, Pigs, Sheep, Camels, Meat Production, Reproduction, Biosecurity, Australian Information
- Zoological Record via ISI Web of Knowledge (1864 – Present) Animal biology database. Topics covered: Exotic Animals, Wild Fauna, Native Animals, Reproduction, Genetics, Ecology, Conservation, Parasitology, Animal Behaviour
- BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present) Main biological sciences database. Topics covered: Exotic Animals, Wild Fauna, Zoonoses, Anatomy and Physiology, Microbiology, Reproduction, Ethics, Parasitology
- Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge Citation database covering all disciplines, and works cited by other papers.
- More Veterinary Science Databases...
Database Searching Tips
Are you having trouble finding journal articles or book chapters on your research topic? You can ask your Liaison Librarians for a personal consultation in person, by email or by phone.
The following searching tips may help:
- Search using just the key concepts for your topic (e.g. "dogs" "diabetes" "diet")
- Think of alternative phrases or words to describe your topic (e.g. "bird flu" OR "avian influenza")
- Try using truncation to return more results (e.g. vet* for all words beginning vet eg veterinary, veterinarian etc.)
- Use the words 'AND' and 'OR' to combine similar phrases in a search string (e.g (pig* OR sus scrofula OR swine) AND intelligence
Need more help? The following is a short humorous video providing an overview of the principles of database searching.
Don't like watching video? Access the text version HERE







Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait