Library Liaison

Bligh Glass
Liason Librarian
Woodwind
Ph: 9351-1313
Mob.: 0466 150 334
Fx: 9351-1372
Self-help online tutorials
Some online tutorials to assist you to get the most from the Libraries' and other information resources.
Searching techniques and tools: Search smarter -- Searching for music -- Searching for journal articles -- Finding course materials
Scholarly versus non-scholarly resources
Referencing and bibliography: Citing your sources -- What is EndNote -- EndNote online tutorial
For a detailed tutorial on searching Databases and electronic resources - see the Music database manual below
Need further assistance? Arrange a one-to-one tutorial with Faculty Liaison Librarian
Music Journal Databases Manual
If you need further assistance after working through the Databases manual: contact Faculty Liaison Librarian for 1-to-1 tutorial
Welcome
Welcome to the woodwind subject guide. The aim of this page to provide information about relevant resources, to provide some self-help assistance for locating woodwind materials in the University Libraries' collections, and to give you a place to comment, ask questions.
If there is anything you consider would be useful to have included on this webpage - please contact me.
Enjoy the music
Bligh
Quick links to pre-set searches for woodwind scores held at the University of Sydney.
These links are to searches for woodwind resources held by the University of Sydney Libraries.
The searches are examples of "Preferred searches" that you can set up in "My Library" to keep yourself abreast of woodwind repertoire holdings at the University of Sydney.
Flute music : Recorder music : Piccolo music include works for solo instrument , flutes/recorders/piccolos (2), etc., sorted by composer
Clarinet music : Oboe music : Bassoon music include works for solo instrument , calrinets/oboes/bassoons (2), etc., sorted by composer
Saxophone music : Saxophone (Jazz) include works for saxophone solo, saxophones (2), etc., sorted by composer
Woodwind trios (scores) these search results are not sorted by composer.
I will be happy to assist you in setting up your tailored preferred search in My Library
Performance Recital Music - Policy
Requests from PG/Honours students for orchestral/ensemble requests
to be submitted by: Semester One - 31 March, Semester Two - 31 August
Digital Collections
There are collections of digitised scores now available online from worldwide sources. These are some relevant collections for woodwind
Australian Composers online (University of Sydney) ; Classical Scores Library for University of Sydney users
Some FREE ACCESS digital collections
Ignaz Pleyel Early Editions (Iowa Digital Library)
Chopin collection (National Digital Library Polona )
Mozart Neue Ausgabe (NMA) (Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum and The Packard Humanities Institute Salzburg)
Bach Gesellschaft Ausgabe (IMSPL-Wiki) - perhaps not always the most authoriative scores, but an historically interesting complete edition
The Classical string quartet 1770-1840 (Duke University)
Virtual library of Musicology (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek) ; Mendelssohns Werke (Digitale Sammlungen, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)
The C.M.M.E. project (University of Utrecht)
Glenn Gould archive ; Oscar Peterson archive (National Library of Canada)
Library of Congress memory collections - free access to a number of digital collections
Copyright
Familiarize yourself with current Copyright, check the following links
University of Sydney copyright guidelines.






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait