Arts and Cultural InquiryArts MusicBrassComposition and Music TechnologyConducting and Opera ProductionEarly MusicEnsemble StudiesJazz StudiesKeyboardMusic EducationMusicologyOrganPercussionStringsVocal Studies and OperaWoodwind
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Music  Tags: music_resources  

Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Arts Music             Print Page
  
 

Library Liaison

Bligh Glass

Liaison Librarian
Arts Music

Ph: 9351-1313
Mob 0466 150 334

Fx: 9351-1372

email Bligh Glass

 

Self-help online tutorials

The University Library has a number of online tutorials to assist you to get the most  from the Libraries' and other information resources. These are some that are very useful.

Searching techniques and tools:  Search smarter  --  Searching for music  -- Searching for journal articles  -- Finding course materials

Scholarly versus non-scholarly resources

Referencing and bibliography:   Citing your sources -- What is EndNote --  EndNote online tutorial

For a detailed tutorial on searching Databases and electronic resources - see the Music database manual below

And go to the Information skills page for a wide selection of self-help tutorials.

Need further assistance? Arrange a one-to-one tutorial with Faculty Liaison Librarian

email Bligh Glass

 

 

Music Journal Databases Manual

If you need further assistance after working through the Databases manual: contact Faculty Liaison Librarian for 1-to-1 tutorial

 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Arts Music subject guide. The aim of this page to provide assistance for you to make the greatest possible use of the University Libraries' and other information resources, and a place to comment, ask questions.

Isanything you want included on this webpage - please let me know.

Enjoy the music

Bligh

 

Remember the REQUEST button for inter-campus loans

The University's music collections are divided mainly between Fisher Library, on main campus, and the Conservatorium Library in the CBD. You need not run between campuses to borrow items. You can request an item to be sent between campuses if the REQUEST button shows on the title in the catalogue.

Remember to specify which Library where you will collect the item. It should arrive in 1 or 2 days.

 

 

Digital Collections

There are collections of digitised scores and other resources now available online from worldwide sources. 

For University of Syndey users i.e. subscribed to services:   Australian Composers online 200 Australian compositions (University of Sydney) ;  Classical Scores Library  a database of digitised scores covering a wide scope, including Australian and contemporary compositions ; Classical music library  (Alexander Street Press) ; Naxos Music Library and Naxos Music Library : Jazz  (Naxos)

Australian Music Centre the webpage for the AMC with access to their catalogues, pod, casts online journal ; Music Australia : a specialised rseource of the National Library of Australia.

Some FREE ACCESS digital collections 

Ignaz Pleyel Early Editions (Iowa Digital Library)  ; Chopin collection  (National Digital Library Polona )

The Classical String Quartet 1770-1840 (Duke University)

Mozart Neue Ausgabe (NMA)  (Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum and The Packard Humanities Institute Salzburg)

Bach digital  (Staatsbibliotak zu Berlin ; Bach-Archiv Leipzig)

Bach Gesellschaft Ausgabe  (IMSPL-Wiki) - perhaps not always the most authoriative scores, but an historically interesting complete edition

Virtual library of Musicology (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek) ;  Mendelssohns Werke (Digitale Sammlungen, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)

Glenn Gould archive ; Oscar Peterson archive (National Library of Canada) 

Library of Congress memory collections - free access to a number of  digital collections ; Coptic chant (Library of Congress digital music collections)

 The C.M.M.E. project (University of Utrecht) 

Juan Critsomo Arriaga  (Bibliotecas Municipales de Bilbao)

Llibre Vermell introduction (Spanish) ; Llibre Vermell digitised facsimiles (Cançoner montserratí, llatí i català fasc. 21-27 in Index 3)  (Biblioteca Virtual Joan Lluis Vives)

British Library rare audio tracks online (British Library, U.K. - note that as non-U.K. users, logging i from this link will allow access only to unrestricted material)

Public domain score sites: IMSLP International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) ; Choral Public Domain Library

Opera and other libretti (Archive Organisation)  - to find libretti, use search box to find "libretto" or the title of the work.

Musicals: Gilbert & Sullivan (Gilbert & Sullivan Archive, U.K.)

Argentinean contemporary music (EPSA Publishing)   The publishers ask that you nform them if you perform or record works by writing to EPSA toinfo@epsapublishing.com

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageConservatorium Library
Contact Info:
02 9351 1316
Send Email

 

Copyright

Familiarize yourself with current Copyright, check the following links

University of Sydney copyright guidelines.

APRA/Amcos Copyright FAQs 

 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait