Census data other countriesHistorical Census Data - Australia
Statistical Register & Blue BooksStatistical Returns
Data VisualisationDatabases & Data Archives -International
Print resouces in the Library
This is the "Home" page of the "Statistics - Australian" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Statistics and Census Data Australia and selected International and country sources
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2015 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/absstatistics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key resources

ABS.stat "ABS.Stat Beta is an interactive free online tool that presents data in a searchable, flexible and dynamic way". Allows you to:

  • search and discover ABS statistics
  • query, view and download data 
  • metadata proided for datasets
  • export data in a range of formats including Excel and CSV as well as SDMX.

 Geography Portal on the ABS Website Did you know that the most common locality name in Australia is Springfield? Find out this and more about ABS statistical geography via this new section of the ABS website!

Australian Statistical Geography Standard Informtion about ASGS the statistical geography that  replaced the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) in July 2011 and used in for the first time in the 2011 census is available from the ABS website.

Data.gov.au    Australian government resource providing access to and reuse of public datasets from the Australian Government

National map website for map-based access to spatial data from Australian government agencies

New South Wales Globe -  free way to view NSW Government spatial data

Research data Australia - Find, access, and re-use data for research

 

 

News

News Headlines from ABS

Loading Loading...
blank padding

ABS Help

For help in using the ABS Website and associated products

 

News

The 2011 Census

The most recent Census of Population and Housing was conducted on 9 August 2011. This was Australia's sixteenth national Census, and marked 100 years of national Census taking in Australia. The results of the 2011Census is available through a wide range of products and services designed to make it easy for users to access the data they need. Most data from the 2011 Census is free of charge and available from the ABS Website.

The next Australian Census will be in 2016

Planning for the 2016 Census of Population and Housing is underway...read more about it on the ABS Website


News from ADA (Australian Data Archive)!

ASSDA has closed all data is now available via ADA (Australian Data Archive) find out more about ADA @ http://www.ada.edu.au/ada/home

Australian Data Archive (ADA) is a consortium of leading national Australian universities, managed by the Australian National University

 


Australian Statistical Geography standards (ASGS) released. This geographical framework will be used in the collection and dissemination of all geographically classified statistics  from 1 July 2011.

1270.0.55.001 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 1 - Main Structure and Greater Capital City Statistical Areas, July 2011  

 

 Click on Logo to go to the ABS website

 

Related Subject Guides

Epidemiology & Statistics

Econometrics & Business Statistics

Geospatial Data

International Statistical Sources for Social Research (coming soon!)

Need further help contact your Academic Liaison Librarian

Learn Online@ABS

New! ABS Understanding Statistics website -  a collection of resources from the Australian Bureau of statistics designed to support statistical literacy, the website includes online courses and tutorials for ABS products and an online course covering basic statistical concepts for statistical thinking.

            Click on  logo to access website

ABS Training: Online tutorials

Referencing ABS publications

 

Contact us:

Help is available at your Library

If you wish to speak to a Librarian, email us or make an appointment ..

Contact your Academic Liaison Librarian 

or visit us at one of the University of Sydney Libraries

Philippa Crosbie & Christine Tennent

library.edsow@sydney.edu.au 

 

ABS Articles Archive

 

Articles about our population, families and communities, health, education and training, work, housing, economic resources and lots of other areas of social concern.

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip