Database news
-
The Cinahl database has moved from OvidSP to the EBSCO platform. Contact me if you would like help using the EBSCO interface.
How do I find journal articles?
If you're trying to track down a particular journal article - say one on your reading list - use the library catalogue. Find out more...
If you're trying to find journal articles on a particular subject, use one of our databases. [Find out more...]
Search engines
Follow this link to Google Scholar to make sure you get full text access to journal articles that the library subscribes to.
Key databases
Databases are a great way to find up to date, scholarly research. You will most often find journal articles in a database - but they might also include resources like conference papers, magazine or newspaper articles and book chapters. Databases usually focus on a particular subject, and can be searched using keywords relating to your topic.
Here are some of the key databases for Occupational Therapy - or click on More Databases for a complete list.
- Medline
Covers all aspects of health and medicine. - Cinahl
Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health literature. - SPORTDiscus
A major resource covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education and biomechanics. - More Databases...
Basic Search Tips
Never searched a database before? Here are some tips to get you started:
- Identify key concepts. e.g. 'type 2 diabetes' and 'exercise'
- Brainstorm synonyms for each key concept. e.g. 'diabetes mellitus', 'sport'
- Use truncation to get more results. e.g. 'exercis*' will find 'exercise', 'exercises', 'exercising' etc
- Use double quotation marks to search for a phrase. e.g. "diabetes mellitus"
- Use brackets to group terms together e.g. ("type 2 diabetes" OR "diabetes mellitus")
- Combine synonyms with OR and key concepts with AND e.g. ("type 2 diabetes" OR "diabetes mellitus") AND exercis*
Watch this short and funny clip to discover more.
Systematic reviews
Here are some Library resources outlining what a Systematic Review is and how to do a Systematic Review
- Systematic reviews [electronic resource] : CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care. - Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.University of York, 2009.
ISBN/ISSN: 1900640473
"Systematic Reviews: CRD"s guidance for undertaking reviews in health care provides practical guidance for undertaking evidence synthesis based on a thorough understanding of systematic review methodology. It presents the core principles of systematic reviewing, and in complementary chapters, highlights issues that are specific to reviews of clinical tests, public health interventions, adverse effects, and economic evaluations. The final chapter discusses the incorporation of qualitative research in or alongside effectiveness reviews."--Website.
Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions [electronic resource]. - edited by Julian P.T. Higgins and Sally Green.
ISBN/ISSN: Cochrane Collaboration, c2008.
Systematic reviews in health care : a practical guide. - Paul Glasziou ... [et al.].CUP 2001.
ISBN/ISSN: 0521799627
Systematic reviews to support evidence-based medicine : how to review and apply findings of healthcare research. - Khalid Khan ... [et al.]. Royal Society of Medicine, Ltd., 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 185315525X (
Systematic reviews and meta-analysis. - Julia H. Littell, Jacqueline Corcoran, Vijayan Pillai.
ISBN/ISSN: 9780195326543
Systematic reviews in health care : meta-analysis in context. - ed by Matthias Egger et al.BMJ, 2001.
ISBN/ISSN: 072791488X
Need to find a peer reviewed article?
A peer reviewed journal contains articles that have been reviewed by experts before publication. [See the peer review process in action...]
Check Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to see if a journal has been peer reviewed.
Click on the eResources tab to see a list of peer reviewed occupational therapy journals.
Citation databases
If you find a great article on your topic, you can use a citation database to track down related articles. These databases will show you the articles' reference list - and a list of who else has cited it since it was published.





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait