Australian Datasets
Data can be downloaded directly from the library catalogue records. Unikey is required. Users are able to save the data and then use it in GIS applications outside the library.
- GEODATA 9 Second DEM and D8 [electronic resource] : digital elevation model version 3 and flow direction grid 2008.
The GEODATA 9 Second DEM Version 2 is a gridded digital elevation model computed from topographic information including point elevation data, elevation contours, stream lines and cliff lines.

- Geodata TOPO-250K series 3 [cartographic material] / Australian Government, Geoscience Australia. GEODATA TOPO 250K Series 3 is a vector representation of the major topographic features appearing on the 1:250 000 scale NATMAP topographic maps.

- 2006 census datapacks [electronic resource]. '2006 DataPacks' is a CD-ROM product containing 2006 Census of Population and Housing Community Profile data for all of Australia to the Collection District (CD) level and the matching digital boundary basemaps in generic Geographical Information System (GIS) format.

The following datasets are available from the Additional Databases icon on all library public access computers. Go to the Maps folder.
- TopoView raster 2006 [electronic resource] / Department of Lands.

- Natmap raster premium, 1:250 000 scale topographic maps of Australia [electronic resource] / Australian Government, Geosciences Australia.

Global Elevation Model Base maps
- 1:1 Million Global Elevation Model of Australia - uses the GDA94 and AHD Datum
- 1:2.5 million Global Elevation Model of Australia - uses the GDA94 and AHD Datum
- 1:5 Million Global Elevation Model of Australia - uses the GDA94 and AHD Datum
- 1:10 Million Global Elevation Model of Australia - uses the GDA94 and AHD Datum
Other maps
1:250K geological maps of Australia
Historical Atlas of Sydney - contains digital version of a number of early maps.
NSW spatial datasets
Spatial Information eXchange (SIX) - Enables users to integrate and view a wide selection of NSW spatial datasets, including property, cadastral and topographic information, satellite data and aerial photography. Requires a plugin to be installed.
Mac users go to SIX Lite
University of Sydney datasets
Spatial Information Register - A
pool of spatial information at the University of Sydney which is not
widely known but offers a tremendous share potential between
researchers. Maintained by ICT. (For enquires to these spatial information datasets please contact Jim Richardson).
Geological Datasets - Japan
The following resources are held in the library and can be borrowed.
- Geological map of Ishikari Bay [electronic resource] - Geological Survey of Japan, AIST
Call Number: Scitech 555.2 3
This CD-ROM contains the Geological, Geomagnetic, Free-air Gravity and Bouguer Gravity Anomaly Maps of the area Ishikari Bay and explanatory notes for these maps. - Geological map of Enshū Nada [electronic resource] - Geological Survey of Japan, AIST.
Call Number: Scitech 555.2 1
This CD-ROM contains the Geological, Geomagnetic, Free-air Gravity and Bouguer Gravity Anomaly Maps of the area Hyūga Nada and explanatory notes for these maps. - Geological map of Hyūga Nada [electronic resource] - Geological Survey of Japan, AIST.
Call Number: Scitech 555.2 2
This CD-ROM contains the Geological, Geomagnetic, Free-air Gravity and Bouguer Gravity Anomaly Maps of the area Hyūga Nada and explanatory notes for these maps. - Sedimentological map of Ishikari Bay [electronic resource] - Geological Survey of Japan, AIST.
Call Number: Scitech 551.4686095 1
This CD-ROM contains the sedimentological and two subsidiary maps of the area Ishikari Bay and explanatory notes for these maps.
International Datasets
Google Earth - Offers maps and satellite images for complex or pinpointed regional searches.
David Rumsey Map Collection - The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 20,000 maps and images online.
Digital Chart of the World - allows you to download the boundaries and layers of different countries, in Arc/INFO export format.
Geography Network - a clearinghouse for maps and data
NGA Raster Roam - National Geospatial Intelligence Agency. Allows you to search by image or by using Decimal Degrees, Degrees Minutes and Seconds, UTM, or MGRS
Physical Oceanography Distributed Active Archive Center (PO.DAAC) is the NASA data center responsible for archiving and distributing data relevant to the physical state of the ocean.
The Shuttle Radar Topography Mission and the CGIAR have made global SRTM 90m DEM data available here.





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait