Sydney - Historic Maps
-
Sydney Metropolitan Detail Series , a series of LandsDepartment maps covering Sydney and its inner suburbs from the 1880s to the 1910s. This is a fascinating source of information for local history, land use and urban studies, as these maps show the outlines of buildings and they help researchers to understand the historical development of Sydney and suburbs. Key maps and the entire series (over 700 sheets) can be viewed online
-
Historical Atlas of Sydney - contains digital version of historical maps of Sydney
The Geosciences Map Collection also has many historical and other maps available. Information on visiting the collection is available here.
Web links
Selected sites:
-
ANZLIC
The peak intergovernmental organisation providing leadership in the collection, management and use of spatail information in Australia and New Zeland -
Australian Antarctic Data Centre
Provides data management and spatial data services to Australia's Antarctic programme -
Australian Spatial Data Directory (ASDD)
Aims to improve access to Australian spatial data for industry, government, education and the general community through effective documentation, advertisement and distribution. -
ECAI - Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative - a global consortium of people who share the vision of creating a distributed virtual library of cultural information with a time and place interface.
-
ESRI Australia
Offers a complete range of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) technology -
Geosciences Australia
Provides geoscientific information - GIS Dictionary
includes terms from all areas of GIS - Maps of Australia
Search over 100,000 maps of Australia held in Australia's libraries, from the earliest mapping to the present -
Spatial Sciences Institute SSI
Provide representation, support and services for the expanding comunity of spatial practitioners





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait