measuring journal quality and impactResearch support
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Psychology 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Resources for Researches             Print Page
  
 

Top Ten Library Tools for Researchers

1. Find out who is citing you

Check Scopus and Web of Science to check who is citing you, or your peers. A cited reference search allows a research theme or idea to be traced over time,providing a context for current research and a decision-making  timeline for research communities.  Citation analysis  is frequently used in academic institutions  for grant applications, hiring and tenure decisions.

GoogleScholar, accessible via databases and electronic resources is another source for citation data.

 2. Publish in a high impact journal

Journal Citation Reports (Web of Science)  and  Scopus Journal Analyzer  (Scopus)  are tools for evaluating and comparing citation data from scholarly and technical journals published in over 60 countries. They provide  information about the most frequently cited journals and those with the highest impact rating in a range of discipline areas.

 3. Find out if a  journal is peer reviewed/refereed

Check Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory, a  listing of regularly and irregularly published journals that are available free of charge or by subscription. 

 4. Easily manage your references and produce bibliographies with EndNote 

Endnote is a reference management software  that integrates with word processing applications , allowing easy compilation and storage  of references and formatting of bibliographies using a range of standard and journal specific styles.  The Library supports Endnote users with web-based information and training sessions. The software is available to Students and Staff with UniKey via this website.

5. Keep up to date with research in your area with Table of Contents (ToC) and Saved Search Alerts.

A range of automatic alerting services that will keep you up to date with new research in your area is available via the Library . Have the latest updates to your key databases and  favourite journals  tables  of contents delivered to you by email or RSS feeds  as soon as they are published.  

 6. Get ‘Googled’ and raise those citation rates

Safely archive your research publications in the Library’s Sydney eScholarship Repository and get global exposure via Google. The repository is also the host for University of Sydney Digital Theses – part of the Australasian Digital Theses project assisting PhD and Masters students communicate their work globally. 

 7. Arrange quality publishing...at the right price

Consider publishing with the Sydney University Press.  SUP is a DEST accredited publisher and uses a print-on-demand system for fast, high quality, cost effective digital and print publication of scholarly materials. Researchers are using SUP services to publish online journals, conference proceedings, books and occasional publications. 

 8. Request locally, access globally

University staff and students and affiliated clinical and research staff can arrange delivery of information from anywhere in the world to their desktop or closest Library – free of charge. After an easy, one-time-only registration process, books and journal articles may be requested via MyLibrary. Click here for more information about the Document Delivery Service.     

9. Build your research collection

Every year the Library allocates funding to purchase research materials to support all discipline areas. The input of researchers into this process is essential to enable the Library to build a dynamic, relevant collection to support current and future research activities. Please use the form on the library website or contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian .

 10. Call in the information specialists

Things change fast in the world of information and your Faculty Liaison Librarian can help you to stay current, show you the developing range of resources available to meet your information needs, provide training in expert use of tools and keep you informed of services and developments to support your research. Contact your Librarian by email, by phone, in person or via the Ask a Librarian service on the  Library web site.

 Adapted from 'Top 10 Library Tools for the Researcher on the Edge' by  SU HANFLING published in Discover, October 2006 p.6.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait